Advisory Committee for Students with Disabilities (ACSD) (2019-20)

State Mandated Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)

Contact Us

Submit a Question

Please be aware that correspondence with ACSD members is subject to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This means that your correspondence may be made public if (1) it deals with FCPS business and (2) someone requests it.

By clicking the "Submit a Question" button above, your email will go directly to the ACSD email address,


School Board Liaison

Stella Pekarsky

Staff Liaison

Michael Bloom, Director, Special Education, Department of Special Services

If you are unable to attend a meeting open to the public where you can provide public comment, you may submit your public comment in writing to the Office of Special Education Instruction. If you have specific concerns about your child’s educational services, you may contact Michael Bloom at

View additional contact information for the Department of Special Services

Committee Purpose

8 VAC 20-81-230(D)—A local advisory committee for special education, appointed by each local school board, shall advise the school board through the division superintendent.

2019-20 Committee Charge

Examine current FCPS practices regarding the communication and dissemination of information to parents related to supports and services provided to students with disabilities.  Make recommendations designed to improve and strengthen the relationship between parents of students with disabilities and FCPS school staff and central office staff.

View the ACSD Staff Response to the 2017-2018 Recommendations
View archived ACSD Information: 2018-19 | 2017-18

Meeting Dates and Parking Information

Monthly Meetings are held at the Gatehouse Administration Building which is located at 8115 Gatehouse Road, Falls Church, VA 22042. The parking deck is located to the rear of the building. Take the elevators to the first floor. On the first floor, turn in the direction of the offices and make a left down the hall. Room 1600 is located directly across from the Apple Federal Credit Union on your right.

Date Meeting or Event Information
9/14/19 9 a.m. - 1:45 p.m.
Kickoff at the Parent Resource Center
Public comments will be from 12:40 - 1 p.m.
September Meeting Agenda
September Meeting Minutes
10/7/19 7 p.m.
Monthly meeting at Dunn Loring in room 108 
October Meeting Agenda
October Meeting Minutes
10/22/19 7 - 9 p.m.
ACSD Meet and Greet at Jackson Middle School 
Meet and Greet Agenda
11/13/19 7 p.m.
Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600
November Meeting Agenda
November Meeting Minutes
12/11/19  6:30 p.m.- Executive meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600

7 pm - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600
December Meeting Agenda
December Meeting Minutes
1/8/20 Meeting Canceled
2/12/20 6 p.m. - Subcommittee meetings 

7 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Dunn Loring in room 108
February Meeting Agenda
February Meeting Minutes
2/29/20 10 a.m. - noon
Subcommittee meeting at the Burke Centre Public Library
3/11/20 6:30 p.m. - Subcommittee meeting 

7 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Dunn Loring in room 108
March Meeting Agenda
4/22/20 7 p.m.
Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600
5/13/20 7 p.m.
Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600
6/10/20 7 p.m.
Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600

2019-20 Membership

Assistive Technology - Toby Latham 
Braddock District - Liz Brocato
City of Fairfax School Board - Darcy Acquavella 
Department of Neighborhood and Community Service - Sandi Dalhoff 
Disability Services Board - Michael Beattie 
Dranesville District - Lissy John 
Faculty - Joanne Walton
Fairfax Co. Health Dept. - Lynn Kiewel 
Fairfax County Council of PTA - Ann Marie Ward 
Fairfax/Falls Church Community Services Board - Erin Lauer 
Federation of Citizens - Vacant
Higher Education - Linda Mason 
Hunter Mill District - Brandon Cassady
League of Women Voters - Vacant
Lee District - Meghan Gray 
Mason District - Harry Henderson
Member at Large-Keys-Gramara - Phara Rodrigue
Member at Large-McElveen - Vacant
Member at Large-Moon - Joe Alston
Mount Vernon District - Connie Lorentzen
POAC-NOVA - Susan Edgerton
Preschool - Jessica White
Providence District - Mary Hackman
Region 1 - Melissa Morrison
Region 2 - Niki Zimmerman
Region 3 - Vacant
Region 4 - Rachel Macias
Region 5 - Laura Allen
SEPTA - Ally Baldassari
Springfield District - Cheri Belkowitz
Student Representative - Mary Kate Ganley
Sully District - Michael Simon
Transition Services - Cathy White

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes