Helping high school students complete the state requirements for Driver Education.
In the tenth grade health and physical education class, students complete a 30 hour course of classroom driver education. Students must attend a 90-minute parent-teen traffic safety program: Partners for Safe Teen Driving.
Classroom driver education is also offered through Adult and Community Education (ACE) in the summer.
Licensing Requirements (18 years old or younger)
To get your driver's license in Virginia, you must
- Get a permit
- Successfully complete:
- Complete 45 hours of supervised driving.
Once those requirements have been met, you will be issued a 180 day Temporary Driver’s License.
You will then be issued your Permanent Driver’s License.
- Must be at least 15 years and 6 months old
- Must complete a two-part exam
- Signs: 10 signs, must score 100%
- Knowledge: 25 questions, must score 80%
- The exam is available in multiple languages
- Offered at most high schools
- Must pass a vision test
- Documents proving residency and legal presence are presented to DMV
- Must have a learner’s permit for a minimum of 9 months for licensing
Classroom Driver Education includes 30 hours of instruction
- Virginia traffic laws
- Vehicle operating procedures
- Management of visibility, time, and space when driving
- Characteristics of different driving environments
- Effects of drugs, alcohol, and fatigue on driving
- Use of occupant protection features such as seatbelts and airbags
- Sharing the roadway with other users including pedestrians, school buses, bicycles, emergency vehicles
- Financial responsibilities of vehicle ownership
Students must attend a 90-minute parent-teen traffic safety program: Partners for Safe Teen Driving.
- Occurs in the evening as part of grade 10 classroom driver education
- Additional sessions are offered through ACE
A Driver Education Certificate of Completion (DEC-District 8/pink card) is issued after passing classroom driver education. This includes
- a summative assessment.
- and attending Partners for Safe Teen Driving.
Classes meet for 7 days.
- Must have a learner’s permit
- Must have a DEC-District 8 card or be able to present a concurrent enrollment form prior to the first behind-the-wheel class
- Basic vehicle control skills
- Driving in residential, rural, city, and freeway (where available) setting
- Administration of the Virginia Road Skills Evaluation is included
- Must be completed with a licensed driver
- The licensed driver must be 18 or older if they are a family member
- The licensed driver must be 21 or older if they are not a family member
- 15 hours must be driven after sunset
- Issued after all juvenile licensing requirements are met
- Valid for 180 days
- Within 180 days, the student will receive notification to attend the licensing ceremony in Juvenile and Domestic Court
- Parent or guardian and student must attend the licensing ceremony.
- Must be on time and dressed appropriately for court.
- License is issued and given to the parent or guardian. The parent or guardian determines when the child can drive unsupervised.
- Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education
- DMV Manual (PDF)
- 45-hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide
- AAA Home Page
- Advocates for Driver and Highway Safety
- Insurance Institute for Highway
- Kelley Blue Book
- MADD ON-LINE
- NHTSA - National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
- U.S. Department of Transportation
- Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
- Teaching Teens About Auto Safety