MTSS Tiers of Support

The three MTSS tiers of support apply to academics, behavior, and student wellness.

MTSS Tiers of Support

Tier 1: All students receive:

  • Evidence-based high quality core instruction.
  • Differentiated instruction and additional support as needed.

Tier 2: Some students receive:

  • Small group targeted intervention in addition to high quality core instruction.
  • Reteaching of essential grade-level/content standards (academics), and behavior/social emotional (SEL) needs.

Tier 3: Few students receive:

  • Intensive intervention in areas of need in addition to high quality core instruction.
  • Focus is generally on foundations skills.
MTSS Pyramid divided horizontally into three tiers and vertically into three lanes.