The List of Standard Holidays Recognized by FCPS

The list below contains the standard holidays recognized by FCPS. View the Employee Calendar for more details.

  • New Year’s Day
  • Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday
  • Inauguration Day
  • George Washington’s birthday
  • Spring break (except 12-month employees)
  • Eid al Fitr
  • Eid al Adha
  • Memorial Day
  • Juneteenth
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Yom Kippur
  • Wednesday before Thanksgiving Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday after Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day

Generally, holidays are observed on the day designated as the federal holiday. If a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is usually observed on the Friday before the actual holiday. If a holiday falls on a Sunday, it is usually observed on the Monday after the actual holiday.

For More Information

Refer to Regulations 4421: Work Hours, Noninstructional Time, Length of Work Year, and School Calendar and 4817: Religious Accommodation for Employees.