Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
(703) 642-4171

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Centreville High School

Jimmy Sanabria
jasanabria@fcps.edu
(703) 802-5409

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
cjbowerman@fcps.edu
(703) 222-8161

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
gsdombrowski@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8091

  • Volleyball - Assistant Varsity

  • Volleyball - Head JV

  • Volleyball - Head Freshmen

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
namelnick@fcps.edu
(703) 219-2201

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Falls Church High School

Jeanne Kelly
jkelly@fcps.edu
(703) 207-4025

  • Assistant Wrestling 

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
(703) 924-7470

  • JV Volleyball

  • Freshmen/JV Cheer

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
jmfrohm@fcps.edu
(703) 810-2211

  • Head Coach – Varsity Boys Basketball

  • Assistant Coach –Golf (Co-ed) / Head Coach (Girls)

  • Assistant Coach – Varsity Wrestling

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
bdgarvey@fcps.edu
(703) 824-3960

  • Head Girls Basketball

  • Varsity Football Assistant 

  • Head Freshman Football 

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Jim Patrick
jpatrick@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • JV Assistant Cheer

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
gjnoto@fcps.edu
(703) 287-2751

  • Assistant Field Hockey

  • Dance

------------------

Lee High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8352

  • Volleyball - JV Head 

  • Volleyball - Varsity Assistant

  • Girls Basketball - Varsity Assistant

  • Girls Basketball -Freshmen Assistant

  • Football – 2 varsity assistants DL/DB

  • Football – Freshmen assistant

  • Cheer - Assistant

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
(703) 319-2360

  • JV Head Field Hockey 

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
jswarm@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5412

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
gmmiller@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5861

  • Field Hockey - Assistant 

  • Cheer - Assistant 

  • Baseball - Varsity Assistant

  • Track & Field - Throws 

  • Football - Freshman Assistant

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
flbelli@fcps.edu
(703) 619-3141

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
plfull@fcps.edu 
(703) 319-2763

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Jeff Ferrell
jferrell@fcps.edu
(703) 426-2126

  • No advertised openings this week.

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Brett Garner
bmgarner@fcps.edu
(703) 446-1678

  • Varsity Assistant Field Hockey 

  • Varsity Head Cross Country 

  • Head Dance Club 

------------------

South Lakes High School

Linda Sarabia Jones
llsarabiajon@fcps.edu
(703) 715-4518

  • No advertised openings this week. 

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
(703) 750-8330

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
abhelmick@fcps.edu
(703) 718-2560

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
apmuir@fcps.edu
(703) 913-3909

  • Head JV Field Hockey 

------------------

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
(703) 488-6400

  • Head Freshman Volleyball 

  • JV Head or Assistant Field Hockey

  • Head Swim and Dive 

  • Head JV Cheer

------------------

W.T. Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(703) 503-4682

  • No advertised openings this week. 

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.