Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
703-642-4171

  • Cheer- Freshman Head 
  • Cheer- JV Assistant 
  • Varsity Head Girls’ Soccer
  • Varsity Head Girls’ Basketball

------------------

Centreville High School

Blair Smith (Interim)
bdsmith@fcps.edu

Jimmy Sanabria
703-802-5409

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
cjbowerman@fcps.edu
(703) 222-8161

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
gsdombrowski@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8091

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
namelnick@fcps.edu
(703) 219-2201

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Falls Church High School

Bobby Krause
rlkrause@fcps.edu
(703) 207-4025

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
(703) 924-7470

  • Head Freshman Cheer

  • Head JV Cheer

  • Dance

  • Girls Tennis

  • Esports

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
jmfrohm@fcps.edu
(703) 810-2211

  • Varsity Softball Head 

  • Varsity Girls Lacrosse Head 

  • Varsity Football Assistant - Defense

  • Track and Field – Sprint (Indoor and Outdoor)

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
bdgarvey@fcps.edu
(703) 824-3960

  • Football - Varsity Assistant 

  • Football - Freshman Assistant 

  • Cheerleading - Varsity Assistant

  • Cheerleading - Assistant 

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Janice Pritchett
jspritchett@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • JV Assistant Field Hockey 

  • Head Indoor Track

  • Head Outdoor Track

  • Head Boys Tennis

  • Assistant Crew

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
gjnoto@fcps.edu
(703) 287-2751

  • Freshman Boys Basketball

------------------

Lewis High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8352

  • Head JV Cheer 
  • Assistant Varsity Cheer 
  • Freshmen Volleyball 
  • Assistant Field Hockey 

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
(703) 319-2360

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
jswarm@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5412

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
gmmiller@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5861

  • Field Hockey- Assistant 

  • Volleyball- Head Freshman

  • Baseball- Assistant

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
flbelli@fcps.edu
(703) 619-3141

  • Head Varsity Wrestling

  • Head JV Cheerleading

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
plfull@fcps.edu 
(703) 319-2763

  • Freshman Field Hockey
  • Freshman Volleyball
  • Head Gymnastics
  • Assistant Cross Country 

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Andy Jimmo
apjimmo@fcps.edu
(703) 426-2125

  • No advertised openings this week.

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Brett Garner
bmgarner@fcps.edu
(703) 446-1678

  • Head Boys Soccer

  • Girls Golf

  • Assistant Varsity Volleyball 

------------------

South Lakes High School

Leah Conte
lmconte@fcps.edu
(703) 715-4518

  • Head Varsity Girls Lacrosse 

  • Assistant Track and Field 

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
(703) 750-8330

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
abhelmick@fcps.edu
(703) 718-2560

  • Head Girls Lacrosse 

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
apmuir@fcps.edu
(703) 913-3909

  • No advertised openings this week.

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
(703) 488-6400

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(703) 503-4682

  • Girls Lacrosse - Varsity Head 
  • JV Girls Basketball Assistant
  • Varsity Girls Basketball Assistant

------------------

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.