Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
703-642-4171

  • Softball - JV Head 

------------------

Centreville High School

Jimmy Sanabria
703-802-5409

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
cjbowerman@fcps.edu
703-222-8161

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
gsdombrowski@fcps.edu
703-924-8091

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
namelnick@fcps.edu
703-219-2201

  • Boys JV Head Soccer

  • Girls Varsity Assistant Soccer

------------------

Falls Church High School

Bobby Krause
rlkrause@fcps.edu
703-207-4025

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
703-924-7470

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
jmfrohm@fcps.edu
703-810-2211

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
bdgarvey@fcps.edu
703-824-3960

  • Assistant Girls Basketball

  • Assistant Wrestling

  • Girls Tennis - Head Varsity 

  • Assistant Baseball

  • Boys Lacrosse - JV Head 

  • Boys Lacrosse - Varsity Defensive Coordinator

  • Boys Lacrosse - Varsity Offensive Coordinator 

  • Boys Lacrosse - Face-Off Coach

  • Boys Lacrosse - Goalies

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Janice Pritchett
jspritchett@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
gjnoto@fcps.edu
703-287-2751

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Lewis High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
703-924-8352

  • Assistant Softball 
  • Assistant Boys Basketball 
  • Boys Head Tennis 
  • Girls Head Lacrosse 
  • JV Boys Assistant 
  • JV Head Cheer 
  • JV Assistant Cheer 

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
703-319-2360

  • JV Softball 

  • JV Girls Soccer 

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
jswarm@fcps.edu
703-714-5412

  • Wrestling Assistant

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
gmmiller@fcps.edu
703-714-5861

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
flbelli@fcps.edu
703-619-3141

  • Head Varsity Softball

  • Forensics 

  • Debate

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
plfull@fcps.edu 
703-319-2763

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Andy Jimmo
apjimmo@fcps.edu
703-426-2125

  • No advertised openings this week.

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Marvin Wooten
mlwooten@fcps.edu 
703-446-1678

  • Head Girls Lacrosse

  • Varsity Assistant Softball 

  • Head Boys Soccer 

  • Assistant Track - Sprints/Jumps 

  • Assistant Track – Throws

------------------

South Lakes High School

Leah Conte
lmconte@fcps.edu
703-715-4518

  • Assistant Varsity Softball

  • Head JV Softball

  • Assistant JV Softball 

  • Assistant Track and Field 

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
703-750-8330

  • Varsity Assistant Girls Lacrosse

  • Head JV Girls Lacrosse

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
abhelmick@fcps.edu
703-718-2560

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
apmuir@fcps.edu
703-913-3909

  • Boys Varsity Head Lacrosse

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
703-488-6400

  • Girls Lacrosse Head JV 

  • Girls Lacrosse Assistant

------------------

Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
703-503-4682

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.