Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
(703) 642-4171

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Centreville High School

Jimmy Sanabria
jasanabria@fcps.edu
(703) 802-5409

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
cjbowerman@fcps.edu
(703) 222-8161

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
gsdombrowski@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8091

  • Varsity Girls Tennis Head 

  • Varsity Boys Tennis Head 

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
namelnick@fcps.edu
(703) 219-2201

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Falls Church High School

Bobby Krause
rlkrause@fcps.edu
(703) 207-4025

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
(703) 924-7470

  • Head Swim/Dive

  • Head Girls Tennis

  • JV/Freshman Cheer

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
jmfrohm@fcps.edu
(703) 810-2211

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
bdgarvey@fcps.edu
(703) 824-3960

  • Girls Tennis - Head 

  • Football – Freshman Assistant

  • Cheerleading – Assistant 

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Janice Pritchett, Interim
jspritchett@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
gjnoto@fcps.edu
(703) 287-2751

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Lewis High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8352

  • Boys Tennis Head 
  • Gymnastics Head Coach

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
(703) 319-2360

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
jswarm@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5412

  • Football- Varsity Special Teams Kicking Coach

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
gmmiller@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5861

  • Volleyball- Assistant

  • Cross Country- Assistant 

  • Indoor/Spring Track- Assistant

  • Football- Assistant Freshman, Defensive Backs Coach

  • Baseball- Varsity Assistant

  • Cheerleading- JV Head 

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
flbelli@fcps.edu
(703) 619-3141

  • Football- Varsity Offensive Lineman Coach

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
plfull@fcps.edu 
(703) 319-2763

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Jeff Ferrell
jferrell@fcps.edu
(703) 426-2126

  • No advertised openings this week.

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Brett Garner
bmgarner@fcps.edu
(703) 446-1678

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

South Lakes High School

Leah Conte
lmconte@fcps.edu
(703) 715-4518

  • Head Girls Lacrosse 

  • Head Girls Tennis 

  • Head Girls Volleyball 

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
(703) 750-8330

  • Co-Ed Dive Coach

  • Head JV Field Hockey

  • Head JV Girls Lacrosse

  • Varsity Assistant Girls Lacrosse     

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
abhelmick@fcps.edu
(703) 718-2560

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
apmuir@fcps.edu
(703) 913-3909

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
(703) 488-6400

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(703) 503-4682

  • Baseball
    • Varsity Assistant 
  • Girls Basketball
    • Varsity Assistant 
    • JV Assistant 
  • Cross Country
    • Assistant 
  • Football
    • Varsity Assistant – Special Teams
    • Varsity Assistant – LB
    • Freshman Assistant
  • Coed Golf
    • Head 

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.