Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
(703) 642-4171

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Centreville High School

Jimmy Sanabria
jasanabria@fcps.edu
(703) 802-5409

  • Head - Girls Lacrosse

  • Girls Soccer 

  • Girls Tennis

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
cjbowerman@fcps.edu
(703) 222-8161

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
gsdombrowski@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8091

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
namelnick@fcps.edu
(703) 219-2201

  • Assistant Girls Cross Country 

  • Head Girls Soccer 

  • Head Boys Tennis 

------------------

Falls Church High School

Jeanne Kelly
jkelly@fcps.edu
(703) 207-4025

  • Assistant Cross Country

  • Varsity Girls Basketball

  • Head Indoor Track

  • Assistant Boys Basketball

  • Assistant Wrestling

  • Varsity Boys Lacrosse

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
(703) 924-7470

  • Dance Team Coach/Sponsor

  • JV/Freshman Cheer

  • Assistant Field  Hockey

  • Freshman Girls Basketball

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
jmfrohm@fcps.edu
(703) 810-2211

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
bdgarvey@fcps.edu
(703) 824-3960

  • Varsity Assistant Cheerleading 

  • Varsity Football Assistant 

  • Head Freshman Football 

  • Head Girls Soccer

  • Assistant Crew 

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Jim Patrick
jpatrick@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • Assistant Freshmen Football

  • Assistant JV Cheer

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
gjnoto@fcps.edu
(703) 287-2751

  • Assistant JV Cheer

------------------

Lee High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8352

  • Girls Lacrosse Assistant

  • Softball Assistant

  • Girls Basketball Assistant

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
(703) 319-2360

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
jswarm@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5412

  • Swim Assistant-Female

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
gmmiller@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5861

  • Swimming- Assistant 

  • Volleyball- Assistant 

  • Cheerleading- Assistant 

  • Baseball- JV Head 

  • Boys Lacrosse- Assistant 

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
flbelli@fcps.edu
(703) 619-3141

  • Head JV Cheer

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
plfull@fcps.edu 
(703) 319-2763

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Jeff Ferrell
jferrell@fcps.edu
(703) 426-2126

  • Boys Basketball Varsity Assistant

  • Boys Basketball JV Head

  • Indoor and Outdoor Track Head

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Brett Garner
bmgarner@fcps.edu
(703) 446-1678

  • Varsity Assistant Field Hockey 

  • Head Indoor Track 

  • Freshman Field Hockey 

  • Assistant Cross Country 

  • Girls Basketball Varsity Assistant

  • Girls Basketball JV Head

  • Girls Basketball Freshman Head

  • Dive 

  • Assistant Swim/Dive 

  • Women's Crew 

------------------

South Lakes High School

Linda Sarabia Jones
llsarabiajon@fcps.edu
(703) 715-4518

  • Head Freshmen Boys Basketball

  • Assistant Freshmen Boys Basketball

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
(703) 750-8330

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
abhelmick@fcps.edu
(703) 718-2560

  • Head Baseball 

  • Assistant Wrestling 

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
apmuir@fcps.edu
(703) 913-3909

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
(703) 488-6400

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

W.T. Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(703) 503-4682

  • No advertised openings this week.

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.