Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee

Citizen Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

School Board Liaison

Tammy Derenak Kaufax

Staff Liaison 

Kirsten Maloney, K-12 Program Coordinator, Department of Instructional Services

Committee Purpose

Va. Code §22.1-18.1—Each school board may appoint, in accordance with the regulations of the Board of Education, a local advisory committee on gifted education. The local advisory committee on gifted education shall annually review the local plan for the education of gifted students, including revisions, and determine the extent to which the plan for the previous year was implemented.

2020-21 Committee Charge

The external program review of equity in identification practices for AAP from the 2019-20 school year provided several recommendations that will require stakeholder input in a timely manner. AAPAC stakeholder representatives will receive updates and provide timely feedback on progress of recommended changes.

2020-21 Membership

The Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee consists of members representing School Board members, a student representative, and members nominated by community organizations and school administration.

School Board Member Representatives

Meredith Egwuatu - Keys-Gamarra
Al Bender, At Large - Sizemore Heizer
Camille Burden, At Large - Omeish
Michelle Hebert-Griffen, Braddock District
Suzanne Raber, Dranesville District
TBD, Hunter Mill District
Joanna Raffetto, Lee District
James Andrew Albright, Mason District
Keonna Reinholz, Providence District
Keli Jacewitz, Springfield District
Kristina Cecere, Fairfax City School Board
Dinan Elsyad, Student Representative

Organization Representatives

Lisa Bertin, Fairfax County Association for Gifted
Cheryl Napoli, FCCPTA
Samaine Lockwood, League of Women Voters
Yishu Wang, MSAOC
Nancy Holincheck, George Mason University
Annamarie Swope and Nancy Trainer, Fairfax Federation of Citizens Associations

FCPS Staff Representatives

Kirsten Maloney, Coordinator, Advanced Academic Programs
Kevin West, Elementary Principal
Patricia Edwards, Elementary Teacher
Cindy Agner, Elementary Teacher
Elizabeth Eby, Middle School Assistant Principal
Bob Long, Middle School Teacher
TBD, High School Principal
Szilvia Oszko, High School Teacher

Meeting Dates

Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee meetings will be online from 7 to 8:30 p.m. until in-person gatherings resume.  For more information, individuals may call Kirsten Maloney, the staff liaison, at 571-423-4740.

Meeting Date Location Minutes
October 13, 2020 Independent Tasks  
November 10, 2020 Virtual  
December 8, 2020 Virtual  
January 12, 2021 Virtual  
February 9, 2021 Virtual  
March 9, 2021 Virtual  
April 6, 2021 Virtual  
May 11, 2021 Virtual  

Annual Reports