Minority Student Achievement Oversight Committee (MSAOC)

Citizen Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

School Board Liaison

Karen Corbett Sanders

Staff Liaison

Lawrence Bussey

Committee Purpose

This committee advocates for minority student achievement by identifying, reviewing, and assessing issues affecting minority student academic achievement within the policies, curriculum, practices, and procedures of FCPS. The committee’s responsibilities also include:

  • making appropriate recommendations to the School Board
  • reviewing strategies and proposing solutions for closing the achievement gap
  • evaluating progress towards goals set by the School Board for closing the achievement gap
  • ensuring outreach to parents and guardians about resources available through FCPS.

Parent Advocacy Handbook

The Parent Advocacy Handbook is now online.

2020-21 Committee Charge

Provide actionable recommendations for:

  • Restoring parent trust for in-person learning.
  • FCPS’ approaches to restoring learning loss for targeted and vulnerable students.
  • For the adequacy of resources for implementing the Equity Action Plan.

General Meetings

Regular meetings of the Committee are open to the public. Public comment during a meeting is limited to the first fifteen minutes of the meeting. Each speaker presenting public comments shall be allowed three minutes. Persons wishing to present public comments during a Committee meeting must provide advance notice by contacting Larry Bussey, the FCPS staff liaison to the School Board.

Meetings are held 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the Gatehouse Administration Center in room 5055, on the following dates:

Date Documents
September 8, 2021  
October 13, 2021  
November 10, 2021  
December 8, 2021  
January 12, 2022  
February 9, 2022  
March 9, 2022  
April 13, 2022  
May 11, 2022  
June 1, 2022  

2021-22 Membership

School Board Member Representatives

Maryam BenOmram, At-Large (Omeish)
James Bensinger, At-Large (Sizemore Heizer)
Laverne Henson, At-Large (Keys-Gamarra)
Victoria Long, Braddock District
Vacant, Dranesville District
Nnajiyyah Abdul Aziz, Hunter Mill District
Kenny White, Lee District
Edward Osborne, Mason District
Shellie McKinney, Mount Vernon District
Robert Perez, Providence District
Robert Shaw, Springfield District
Aicha Janan, Sully District
Makda Dejene, Student Representative
Amina Iman, Student Representative

Organization and Community Representatives

Vacant, Advanced Academic Programs (AAP) Advisory Committee
Vivian Yun, Asian Educators Association
George Becerra, Community Representative
Guru Nagaraja, Community Representative
Nelly Samaniego, Community Representative
Shawn Frank, Fairfax Alliance for Black Educators
Vacant, Fairfax County Council of Parent and Teacher Associations (PTAs)
Zobia Bashir, Family and Early Childhood Programs (FECEP)/Head Start Parent Representative
Chelsea Burwell, Family and Early Childhood Programs (FECEP)/Head Start​​​​​​​ Parent Representative​​​​​​​
Micheline Lavalle, Hispanic Educators Association
Tabitha Temple, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

FCPS Staff Representatives

Kim Amenabar, Chief Academic Office
Emmanuel Bonhomme, Department of School Improvement & Support
Stefan Mascol, Department of Student Services
Anaya Bryson, Fairfax Association of Elementary School Principals (FAESP)
JoVon Rogers, High School Principals Association (HSPA)
Dana Walker, Middle School Principals Association (MSPA)
Kathy Ryan, Office of the Superintendent
Cheronda Farrish, Region 1
Kimberly Kardelis, Region 2
LaRonda Peterson, Region 3
Pamela Simpkins, Region 4
Amy Parmentier, Region 5

Annual Reports