School Health Advisory Committee (SHAC) (2019-20)

Citizen Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

School Board Liaison

Rachna Sizemore Heizer

Staff Liaison

Lea M. Skurpski, Director, Office of Operations and Strategic Planning, Department of Special Services

Committee Purpose

Va. Code §22.1-275.1—Each school board may establish a school health advisory board of no more than twenty members which shall consist of broad-based community representation including, but not limited to, parents, students, health professionals, educators, and others. The advisory board shall assist with the development of health policy in the school division and the evaluation of the status of school health, health education, the school environment, and health services.

2019-20 Committee Charge

The FCPS School Board hereby charges the School Health Advisory Committee with reviewing factors impacting overall student health and social-emotional wellness, inclding student safety/school climate, nutrition, physical activity, sleep, school-day screen-time, and middle school start times.

Participation, Implementation, and Support of the FCPS Wellness Policy

The Fairfax County School Board will engage members of the school community and the general public to develop, assess, review and/or revise the FCPS Wellness Policy and Regulations. The School Health Advisory Committee will assess and review the Wellness Policy and Regulations to make recommendations to the School Board and serve as a vehicle for engaging the public. 

Reports, Policies, and Regulations

2019-20 Meeting Schedule 

The SHAC meets every third Wednesday of the month. All meetings are held at the Gatehouse Administration Center (GAC) located at 8115 Gatehouse Road, Falls Church, VA 22042 at 7:00 p.m.
Please note that when schools are closed due to snow or inclement weather, SHAC meetings will be cancelled. FCPS provides information about closings and delays on

Public Comment at SHAC Meetings During COVID-19 Emergency
During the COVID-19 Emergency, the SHAC will only meet virtually. During this time, Fairfax County and City residents may submit a video or audio testimony by email to A maximum of 10 slots are available, first come, first served. Please submit your video or audio testimony by 5:00 p.m. the day before the meeting. Video and audio testimony should not exceed 3 minutes in length.

Archived Meeting Agendas and Minutes: 2018-19 | 2017-18 | 2016-17

2019-20 Membership

Vacant, At Large-Keys-Garmarra
Diana Nash, At Large-McElveen
Seung Je Yo, At Large-Moon
Theresa Sheipe, Braddock
Lori Jacobs, Dranesville
Karim Daugherty, Elementary School Principal Association
Brenda Silvia-Torma, Fairfax City School Board
Kara Danner, Fairfax County Council of PTAs
Joanna Hemmat, Fairfax County Health Department
Camille Bartus, Fairfax County Public Schools, Department of Human Resources
Bethany Koszelak, Fairfax County Public Schools, Department of Special Services
Lorraine Trouton, Fairfax County Public Schools, Department of Special Services
Richard Michelback, Fairfax County Public Schools, Facilities and Transportation Services
Libby Lyon, Fairfax County Public Schools, Food and Nutritional Services
Carrie Reynolds, Fairfax County Public Schools, Instructional Services Department
Shreya Papneija, Fairfax County Public Schools, Students
Joe Thompson, High School Principals Association
David Whiting, Hunter Mill
Kate Garrson, INOVA
Carol Stiller, League of Women Voters
Amber Chamberlain, Lee
Holly Spanier, Mason
Adriana van Breda, Mt. Vernon
Phyllis Payne, Providence
Cecilia Alvarez, Springfield District representative
Catherine Stewart, Sully District representative

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes