School Health Advisory Committee (SHAC) (2022-23)

Citizen Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

This webpage is being translated through "machine translation" using Google Translate. [Learn more]

School Board Liaison

Abrar Omeish

Staff Liaison

Lea M. Skurpski, Director, Office of Operations and Strategic Planning, Department of Special Services
[email protected]

Committee Purpose

Va. Code §22.1-275.1—Each school board may establish a school health advisory board of no more than twenty members which shall consist of broad-based community representation including, but not limited to, parents, students, health professionals, educators, and others. The advisory board shall assist with the development of health policy in the school division and the evaluation of the status of school health, health education, the school environment, and health services.

2022-23 Committee Charge

SHAC will focus on learning more about the impact of technology use on student wellness, including physical and mental health, physical activity, social-emotional well-being, and sleep. We will seek to understand best practices in the use of educational technology in schools for various age groups and seek direct student and family feedback.

Participation, Implementation, and Support of the FCPS Wellness Policy

The Fairfax County School Board will engage members of the school community and the general public to develop, assess, review and/or revise the FCPS Wellness Policy and Regulations. The School Health Advisory Committee will assess and review the Wellness Policy and Regulations to make recommendations to the School Board and serve as a vehicle for engaging the public. 

Reports, Policies, and Regulations

2022-23 Meeting Schedule

Meetings will be held at 7 p.m. in Conference Room 5055 at the Gatehouse Administration Center (8115 Gatehouse Road, Falls Church, VA). Parking is available on site in the parking garage at the Gatehouse Administration Center.

Meeting Dates:

  • September 21
  • October 19
  • November 16
  • December 14
  • January 18
  • February 15
  • March 15
  • April 19
  • May 17

Archived Meeting Agendas and Minutes: 2021-22 | 2020-21 | 2019-20 | 2018-19

Fairfax County and City residents who would like to make public comment may attend the meeting in person at the location indicated above or may submit a video or audio testimony in advance of the meeting by email to [email protected]. Please submit video or audio testimony by 5:00 p.m. on the Tuesday evening prior to each meeting. A maximum of 5 slots are available, first come, first served. Video and audio testimony should not exceed 3 minutes in length.

2021-22 Membership

Ann Wilkie*, At-Large-Keys-Gamarra  
Merehan Elhady*, At-Large-Omeish
Beth Spivak*, At-Large-Sizemore Heizer
Adriana Glenn*, Braddock District
Lori Jacobs Vass*, Dranesville
Brett Fox, Hunter Mill
Jen Steiner, Lee
Sherry Nachnani*, Mount Vernon
Holly Spainer*, Mason
Phyllis Payne*, Co-Chair, Providence
Ilana Yergin-Doniger*, Springfield
Danielle Kaubaroulis*, Sully
Seoryoung (Haley) Kim*, Fairfax County Public Schools-Students
Brenda Silvia-Torma*, Co-Chair, Fairfax City School Board
Kara Danner*, Fairfax County Council of PTA
Robin Wallin*, Fairfax County Health Department
TBD*, Medical Society of Northern Virginia
Lorraine Trouton*, Fairfax County Public Schools, Department of Special Services
Karim Daugherty*, Elementary Schools Principal Association
Joe Thompson*, High School Principal Association
Ann Smith*, Middle School Principal Association
Judy Sturm*, INOVA
Samantha Whiteside, Fairfax County Public Schools, Department of Human Resources
Tom Vaccarello, Fairfax County Public Schools, Facilities and Transportation Services
Carrie Reynolds, Fairfax County Public Schools, Instructional Services Department
Bethany Demers, Fairfax County Public Schools, Department of Special Services
Megan Mauer, Fairfax County Public Schools, Food and Nutrition Services

* indicates a voting member.