Family Literacy

The Family Literacy program supports residents with limited English skills, building literacy and community connections for students and their families.

About the Family Literacy Program

  • Empowers families of FCPS students by improving essential life skills and English language abilities.
  • Builds a necessary social network that increases the confidence of each student, allowing them to engage in new volunteer and student advocacy experiences.
  • Supports efforts of family members to become active and knowledgeable about their children’s school and community.
  • Provides a preschool environment for children ages 3-5. Teachers and families work with preschoolers to acquire early literacy skills needed in kindergarten.
  • Provides child enrichment activities for children in kindergarten through sixth grade. Teachers and families work with students to support learning.

Benefits

  • Increases their communication skills, allowing more effective interaction among family members, teachers, school staff members, and in the community.
  • Creates a connection between school resources and families.
  • Improves volunteerism in school activities and ignites interest in taking on leadership roles.
  • Gives families the tools to implement positive practices in the home that support learning.

Eligibility

Fairfax County residents with limited English skills are eligible to participate in Family Literacy. Programs are offered at various school sites within the county. Students attending evening programs are encouraged to bring their children currently enrolled in grades K-6. Students attending daytime programs are encouraged to bring their children, ages 3-5, who are not currently enrolled in a preschool class. The Family Literacy program focuses on supporting the whole family. Including children is very important as it fosters strong family ties and builds literacy skills for everyone.

Contact

Micheline Lavalle, family literacy specialist: MBLavalle@fcps.edu
Betsy Scotto-Lavino, family literacy project support: EHScottolavi@fcps.edu

Register

The Family Literacy program is offered in two semesters of 12 weeks each. The fall semester runs from the end of September until mid-December, while the spring semester runs from late January or early February through April. Registration takes place in the fall and winter. However, students may register anytime, provided that there is space in the class. Students who register in the fall do not need to register for the spring session. We encourage students to attend both semesters.

Registration Guidelines

You must reside in Fairfax County to register for the Family Literacy program. Please check the site chart below to determine your closest program location. To register:

  1. Call the listed school contact to see if there is space in the class.
  2. If there is space, you are welcome to attend the class.
  3. Attend classes and bring your children. The Family Literacy program focuses on supporting the whole family.
Site Day Time Program Spring(12/Weeks) Parent Liaison/Contact E-Mail Phone
Annandale Terrace ES Tuesday/Thursday 6-8 p.m. January 31, 2017 Miriam Pitchford
Laura Hibdon
MCPitchford@fcps.edu
Laura.Hibdon@fcps.edu
703-658-5693
Braddock ES Monday/Wednesday 6:30-8:30 p.m. January 30, 2017 Jakelin Lake jslake@fcps.edu 703-914-7300
Brookfield ES Tuesday/Thursday 6:30-8:30 p.m. February 14, 2017 Raquel Francese RTFrancese@fcps.edu 703-814-8713
Dogwood ES  Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday 9-11 a.m. January 30, 2017 Maria Isaza maria.isaza@fcps.edu 703-262-3108
Freedom Hill ES Tuesday/Thursday  6:30-8:30 p.m. January 31, 2017 Robyn Fernandez RLFernandez@fcps.edu 703-506-7800
Glen Forest ES Monday/Wednesday 9:30-11:30 a.m. January 30, 2017 Eugenia Garris edgarris@fcps.edu 703-578-8010
Graham Road Community Building Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday/Friday 9:30-11:30 a.m. January 31, 2017 Jacqueline Camargo jpcamargo@fcps.edu 571-226-2715
Herndon ES Tuesday/Thursday 6:30-8:30 p.m. January 31, 2017 Raquel Snyder rbsnyder@fcps.edu 703-326-3100
Hutchinson ES Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday 9:30-11:30 a.m. January 31, 2017 Maria Michlik MEMichlik@fcps.edu 703-925-8329
Lynbrook ES Tuesday/Thursday 6:30-8:30 p.m. January 31, 2017 Maggie Perez Rives MRPerezrives@fcps.edu 703-866-2954
Mt. Vernon Woods ES Monday/Wednesday 6:30-8:30 p.m. January 30, 2017 Elena Rodriguez elena.rodriguez@fcps.edu 703-619-2802
Parklawn ES Wednesday/Friday 10:15 a.m.-12:15 p.m. February 1, 2017 Afifa Bolte abolte@fcps.edu 703-914-6900
Sacramento Center Monday/Wednesday 9:30-11:30 a.m. January 30, 2017 Connie Ruiz caruiz@fcps.edu 703-619-2513
Westlawn ES Tuesday/Thursday 6:30-8:30 p.m. January 31, 2017 Silvia Gutierrez smgutierrez@fcps.edu 703-241-5100

FCPS Parent Resource Center

Learn more about what the FCPS Parent Resource Center (PRC) offers for parents, educators, and community members.
Parent Resource Center

FCPS Early Childhood Education

Learn more about FCPS opportunities that prepare young children and parents to be ready to start kindergarten feeling confident and ready to learn.
Early Childhood