Thirty Students Named National Merit Scholarship Winners

May 11, 2022

Thirty students from six Fairfax County high schools have been named winners of $2,500 scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). Scholarship winners are part of a group of approximately 2,500 National Merit finalists chosen to receive scholarships in 2022 primarily financed by the NMSC.  

Winners of the scholarships, with their probable career fields in parentheses, are: 

  • Ryan Angle (computer science), Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST). 
  • Grant Donavan Hamilton (mathematics). West Potomac High School. 
  • Akash Pamal (computer science), TJHSST. 
  • Aarav Khanna (computer science), TJHSST. 
  • Aaryan Rawal (politics), Westfield High School. 
  • Aarav Bajal (computer science), TJHSST. 
  • Anirudh Bansal (computer science), TJHSST. 
  • Justine Chu (medical research), TJHSST.
  • Anwitha Kollipara (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Harrish Ganesh (medicine), TJHSST.
  • Joyce Qi (materials engineering), McLean High School. 
  • Cathy Zhang (law), McLean High School. 
  • William Wallace-Gomez Orr (writing), Langley High School.
  • Jasjeet Sandhu (politics), TJHSST.
  • Charles Tatum (engineering), Oakton High School.
  • Melissa Wu (economics), TJHSST.
  • Justin Chen (business), TJHSST.
  • Jack Hunter Deutsch (economics), McLean High School. 
  • Alyssa Gorbaneva (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Leon Jia (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Erika Li (biology), Langley High School. 
  • Valerie Li (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Isaac Lin (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Songhan Pang (medicine), McLean High School.
  • Megan Yu (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Anjana Rajesh (neuroscience), Oakton High School. 
  • Hasita Nalluri (medicine), TJHSST.
  • Pulak Dugar (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Garrett Heller (physics), TJHSST.
  • Cynthia Ma (undecided), McLean High School. 

Each of the FCPS winners received a scholarship supported by the NMSC’s own funds. 

Each scholarship winner was evaluated on his or her academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; a personal essay; and a recommendation from a high school official. The number of winners named in a state is in proportion to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating high school seniors. Winners are chosen by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, not the school district.


This web page is being translated through "machine translation" using Google Translate. [Disclaimer]