FCPS Adapted Physical Education Teacher Named National Teacher of the Year by SHAPE

By Office of Communications
April 24, 2024

Cadi Doyle, an adapted physical education (APE) teacher at Waples Mill and Oakton elementary schools, has been named the National Teacher of the Year for Adapted Physical Education by the Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE). Doyle received the award at the SHAPE America national convention, held in Cleveland last month. 

Cadi DoyleHer lessons are comprehensive and designed based on individuality, but she was chosen for the award because she goes above and beyond. For example, Doyle has developed a secondary transition program guide for teachers to use to support students ages 14 years and older to prepare for their transition beyond high school. She also developed a unified basketball team where students with and without disabilities played together as equal teammates. 

Doyle needed to submit a video as part of the selection process. Her video showcased gymnastics instruction. Students were paired up and developed a sequence of gymnastics movements that they practiced and presented to the class. The groups combined students with and without disabilities. Students were provided ownership over their learning to select their gymnastic movements, and supported one another through the practice. 

Within FCPS, Cadi leads professional development sessions for both health and physical education and adapted physical education programs. She has been a guest lecturer for the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse's adapted physical education course, and has engaged in research discussions with a professor at Old Dominion University around inclusion as a philosophy and not a placement. 

The National Adapted Physical Education Teacher of the Year award recognizes full-time APE teachers that have at least five years of experience with a minimum of 50 percent of their job responsibilities in APE, and who have received the state and district Teacher of the Year awards. Doyle was chosen over finalists from the Eastern and Midwest districts, and received a plaque and free SHAPE America conference registration. 

For more information, contact Carrie Reynolds at [email protected]