Advisory Committee for Students with Disabilities (2018-19)

State Mandated Special Education Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

School Board Liaison

Elizabeth Schultz, Springfield District Representative

Staff Liaison

Michael Bloom, Acting Director, Special Education, Department of Special Services

If you are unable to attend a meeting open to the public where you can provide public comment, you may submit your public comment in writing to the Office of Special Education Instruction. If you have specific concerns about your child’s educational services, you may contact Michael Bloom at [email protected].

Additional Special Education Contact Information

Committee Purpose

8 VAC 20-81-230(D)—A local advisory committee for special education, appointed by each local school board, shall advise the school board through the division superintendent.

2018-19 Committee Charge

  • Explore FCPS practices regarding transition to post-secondary opportunities for students with disabilities.
  • Make recommendations designed to improve divisionwide practices to improve post-secondary outcomes for students who exit or graduate from FCPS services.

View the ACSD Staff Response to the 2017-2018 Recommendations

View 2017-18 ACSD Information

Meeting Dates and Parking Information

Monthly Meetings are held at the Gatehouse Administration Building which is located at 8115 Gatehouse Road, Falls Church, VA 22042. The parking deck is located to the rear of the building. Take the elevators to the first floor. On the first floor, turn in the direction of the offices and make a left down the hall. Room 1600 is located directly across from the Apple Federal Credit Union on your right.

Date Meeting or Event Information
9/12/18 6 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
10/10/18 7 p.m - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
11/5/18 11 a.m.- Special Education Advisory Committee Orientation at Willow Oaks in room 2097
11/14/18 6 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
12/10/18  8:30 a.m. - ACSD Committee Tour of the Davis Career Center
12/12/18 6:30 p.m. - Subcommittee meeting 

7 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
1/9/19 7 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
2/13/19 6 p.m. - Subcommittee meeting

7 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
3/7/19 7 p.m. - Subcommittee meeting at Gatehouse in room 1610
3/13/19 7 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
4/10/19 7 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
5/8/19 7 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
5/22/19 7 - 9 p.m - Meet and Greet at Luther Jackson MS | View Event Page
6/12/19 7 p.m. - Monthly meeting at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda

2018-2019 Membership

Toby Latham, Assistive Technology
Jane Wilson, Braddock District
Cathy White, Transition Services
Darcy Acquavella, City of Fairfax School Board
Sandi Dallhoff, Department of Neighborhood & Community Services
Michael Beattie, Disability Services Board
Elizabeth John, Dranesville District
Melissa Johnson, Faculty
Jeanne Frost, Fairfax County Health Department
Ann Marie Ward, Fairfax County Council of PTA
Jessica Bradley, Fairfax County Federation of Citizen’s Associations
Erin Lauer, Fairfax/Falls Church Community Service Board
Linda Mason, Higher Education
Brandon Cassady, Hunter Mill
Andrianne Konstas, League of Women Voters
Meghan Gray, Lee District
Harry Henderson, Mason District
Rachna Heizer, Member at Large Keys-Gamarra
Judy Farabaugh, Member at Large-McElveen
Joe Alston, Member at Large-Moon
Connie Lorentzen, Mount Vernon District
Susan Edgerton, Parents of Autistic Children of Northern Virginia (POAC-NOVA)
Cindy Woodcock, Preschool
Vacant, Providence District
Paul Keiser, Region 1
Niki Zimmerman, Region 2
Phara Rodrigue, Region 3
Joanne Walton, Region 4
Laura Allen, Region 5
Michelle Cades, Special Education Parent-Teacher Association (SEPTA)
Cheri Belkowitz, Springfield District
Darcy Mills, Student Representative
Vacant, Sully District

Executive Members

Cheri Belkowitz, Chair
Connie Lorentzen,Vice-Chair
Toby Latham, Co-Secretary
Sandi Dallhoff, Co-Secretary

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes

Presentations and Training Information

Date Presentation Information
10/10/18 FCPS Career and Transition Services by Sarah Blake, Janelle Ellis and Trevor Christensen
11/14/18 Career Centers Overview by Chad Clayton, Principal of Davis Career Center and Lonnie Bickel, Principal of Pulley Career Center
12/12/18 The Role of SEAC in Identifying the Unmet Needs of Students with Disabilities by Christine Germeyer, State Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) Chair
12/12/18 The Role of the Ombudsman in Fairfax County Public Schools by Armando J. Peri Jr., FCPS Ombudsman