Three FCPS Schools Selected for 2024 First Amendment Press Freedom Award

By Office of Communications
February 22, 2024

Three Fairfax County public schools—Chantilly High School, McLean High School, and West Springfield High School—are among 28 schools nationwide selected as recipients of the 2024 First Amendment Press Freedom Award. This is the tenth consecutive award for Chantilly High, the seventh consecutive award for McLean High, and the second consecutive award for West Springfield High.

The award recognizes private and public high schools that actively support, teach, and protect First Amendment rights and responsibilities of students and teachers, with an emphasis on student-run media where students make all final decisions of content. 

The schools will be honored at the JEA/NSPA (Journalism Education Association- National Scholastic Press Association) Spring National High School Journalism Convention during an awards ceremony on April 4. Representatives from the JEA, NSPA, and Quill and Scroll International Honorary Society selected the winners.

As in previous years, schools competed for the title by first answering questionnaires submitted by an adviser and at least one editor; those who advanced to the next level were asked to provide responses from the principal and all media advisers and student editors. Semifinalists submitted their printed policies. 

More information about the First Amendment Press Freedom Award is available online