Thirty Students Named Winners of $2,500 National Merit Scholarships

May 08, 2019

Thirty students from ten Fairfax County high schools have been named winners of $2,500 scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.  Scholarship winners are part of a group of approximately 2,500 National Merit finalists chosen to receive scholarships primarily financed by the NMSC.  
Winners of the scholarships, with their probable career fields in parentheses, are:


  • Kartik Chugh of Chantilly High School (computer science).
  • Eileen Wen of Langley High School (neuroscience).
  • Caroline Howley of McLean High School (undecided).
  • Isabella Swigart of McLean High School (genetics).
  • Devan Fink of Madison High School (quantitative analysis).
  • Madeleine Kienzle of Marshall High School (chemistry).
  • Carolyn Qu of Oakton High School (computer science).
  • Madeleine Taft of Robinson Secondary School (engineering).
  • Sarah Anstice of South County High School (physical therapy).
  • Alexander Ahn of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST) (medicine).
  • Varshini Babu of TJHSST (medicine).
  • Shresta Bangaru of TJHSST (computer science).
  • Christopher Bi of TJHSST (science-research).
  • Junhyun Chong of TJHSST (chemical engineering).
  • Neha Damaraju of TJHSST (biomedical engineering).
  • Eric Gan of TJHSST (computer science).
  • Claire Heinbaugh of TJHSST (computer science).
  • Ryan Kim of TJHSST (mathematics).
  • Vivian Lin of TJHSST (biomedical engineering).
  • Jack Liu of TJHSST (computer science).
  • Richard Lun of TJHSST (computer programming).
  • Siona Prasad of TJHSST (computer science).
  • Jennifer Pruitt of TJHSST (computer science).
  • Evan Shi of TJHSST (computer science).
  • Kevin Wang of TJHSST (law).
  • Daniel Wisdom of TJHSST (computer science).
  • Hanna Xu of TJHSST (computer science).
  • Fred Zhang of TJHSST (statistics).
  • Julia Zhou of TJHSST (bioinformatics).
  • Kelly Huang of Woodson High School (chemistry).

Each of the FCPS winners received a scholarship supported by the NMSC’s own funds.

Each scholarship winner was evaluated on his or her academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; a personal essay; and a recommendation from a high school official.  The number of winners named in a state is in proportion to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating high school seniors. Winners are chosen by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, not the school district.


Note:  For more information, contact the FCPS Office of Communication and Community Relations at 571-423-1200.