27 FCPS Students Named National Merit Scholarship Winners

By Office of Communications
May 08, 2024

Twenty-seven students from seven Fairfax County high schools have been named winners of $2,500 scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). Scholarship winners are part of a group of approximately 2,500 National Merit finalists chosen to receive scholarships in 2024 primarily financed by the NMSC.  

Winners of the scholarships, with their probable career fields in parentheses, are: 

  • Lucy Marshall (law), West Potomac High School.
  • Cameron Ake (computer programming), Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST). 
  • Jacob Bowen-Glazeroff (law), TJHSST.
  • Leona Eunbi Kim (law), Chantilly High School.
  • Lakshmi Sritan Motati (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Siddhi Surawkar (medicine), Chantilly High School. 
  • Nicole Deng (astrophysics), Oakton High School.
  • Paul Hwang (aerospace engineering), TJHSST.
  • Maya Kamat (medicine), Fairfax High School.
  • Cierra Min (biomedical engineering), TJHSST.
  • Jason Yoo (investment banking), Chantilly High School.
  • Benjamin Daniil Cohen (neurosurgery), TJHSST.
  • Dylan Cheng (software engineering), TJHSST.
  • Pranav Elavarthi (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Mihir Kulshreshtha (finance), TJHSST.
  • Emi Zhang (computer science), TJHSST.
  • Ayaan Siddiqui (software engineering), TJHSST.
  • Aiden Cheong (mechanical engineering - robotics), TJHSST.
  • Tristan Devictor (politics), TJHSST. 
  • Ronit Kapur (astrophysics), TJHSST. 
  • Clara Marks (mechanical engineering), McLean High School.
  • Grace Oh (medicine), TJHSST. 
  • Alexander O’Quinn (biomedical engineering), TJHSST.
  • Maya Pashai (veterinary medicine), McLean High School.
  • Sebastian Emin Toro (computer engineering), TJHSST.
  • Aditi Bhattacharjya (law), Oakton High School.
  • Shivashish Das (medicine), Madison High School.

Each scholarship winner was evaluated on his or her academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; a personal essay; and a recommendation from a high school official. 

The number of winners named in a state is in proportion to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating high school seniors. Winners are chosen by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, not the school district.