Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee

Citizen Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

School Board Liaison

Tom Wilson, Sully District Representative

Staff Liaison 

Carol Horn, K-12 Program Coordinator, Department of Instructional Services

Committee Purpose

Va. Code §22.1-18.1—Each school board may appoint, in accordance with the regulations of the Board of Education, a local advisory committee on gifted education. The local advisory committee on gifted education shall annually review the local plan for the education of gifted students, including revisions, and determine the extent to which the plan for the previous year was implemented.

2016-17 Committee Charge

Will study and review current school-based services and make recommendations for strengthening advanced academic services in every elementary school to ensure students are able to achieve their full potential.

Advanced Academic Program Committee (AAPAC) Members 

The Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee consists of members representing School Board members, a student representative, and members nominated by community organizations and school administration. The committee meets once a month, generally on the first Monday of each month, at 10:30 a.m. at Marshall High School.  For more information, individuals may call Dr. Carol V. Horn, the staff liaison, at 571-423-4745.

Committee Members

Beth English, Hunter Mill District
Chao Wei, At Large - McElveen
HakJae Kim, At Large – Moon          
Annmarie Swope, At Large - Hough
Brian Walch, Braddock District
Carrie Feord, Dranesville District
Wendy Kaynor, Lee District               
TBD, Mason District
Jeff Feinstein, Mount Vernon District
Faye Wagoner, Providence District  
Marta Nazario, Springfield District       
Jen Wienke, Sully District                  
Anneliese Hughes, Student Representative           
TBD, American Association of University Women
Carol Horn, Coordinator, Advanced Academic Programs
Karen Via, Fairfax City School Board
Lisa Bertin, Fairfax County Association for the Gifted
TBD, Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce
Terri Radziewski, Fairfax County Council of PTAs
Latisha Elcock, Fairfax County Federation of Citizens Associations
TBD, Human Relations Advisory Committee
Janet Curtis, League of Women Voters
Jacqui Greene, Teacher, Elementary
Shelby Seibert, Teacher, Middle School
Daina Lieberman, Teacher, High School
Cecelia Vanderhye, Principal, Elementary
Arlene Randall, Principal, Middle School
Jeff Litz, Principal, High School
Nicole Beadles, University Representative

Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee Schedule

The Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee meetings will take place from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. at Marshall High School (unless noted below) on the following dates:

  • October 17, 2016
  • November 14, 2016
  • December 5, 2016
  • January 9, 2017
  • March 6, 2017
  • April 3, 2017
  • May 15, 2017

Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee Minutes

View the 2015-16 Annual Report

View the 2015-16 Staff Response.
Search for committee minutes using the Minutes Index.