Outstanding Principal, Finalists, and School Recipients

The outstanding principals recognized for 2021

2021 Outstanding Principal

Lindsay N. TroutLindsay N. Trout
Terraset Elementary School, Region 1

The school motto, “We see you. We welcome you. You belong here.” epitomizes Lindsay’s leadership.Through authentic kindness and a passion for people, Lindsay cultivates capacity among children, Terraset staff and families. Her leadership focuses on the strengths of people, a genuine sense of belonging and a culture that empowers adults and students to recognize and reach their potential. This year Lindsay created the concept of #TerrasetTogether to provide a safe place for children to be their authentic selves; for families to share their celebrations and their struggles and for staff to elevate their passion for teaching. Having attended Terraset, Hughes, and South Lakes herself, Lindsay strives to give the children of Reston the gifts that these schools gave her.

2021 Outstanding Principal Finalist

darwin barkerDarwin R. Barker
Sandburg Middle School, Region 3

Mr. Barker has led a resurgence of Panther PRIDE within the CSMS community, inspiring a shared vision of academic excellence. He continues to set a positive tone for CSMS as a responsive, dedicated, compassionate, and highly effective leader. His transparent leadership style makes him relatable and approachable, traversing the limitations of the hybrid environment. Mr. Barker fosters an inclusive school culture, ensuring that all stakeholders feel seen and heard. He skillfully leads a highly diverse school with a personal touch, working alongside his staff to make great things happen for students. He understands the middle school environment and provides the loose-tight structures that students need to thrive. His optimism and calm demeanor have been reassuring during such a year of uncertainty.

Tammara M. Hanna2021 Outstanding Principal Finalist

Tammara M. Hanna
Lanier Middle School, Region 5

Tammy joined FCPS as an experienced principal just three years ago. At the heart of her leadership style, she desires to be a collaborative leader that empowers others to do their best. Her passions include advocating for the voiceless and challenging her staff to always do, be and give their best. A colleague states “Tammy is a leader who values a positive culture and climate for her staff that focuses on student achievement with an equity lens.” She loves middle schoolers; students are not surprised to see her dressed as a flapper during spirit days or wearing her one-of-a-kind Lanier sneakers on Fridays. Because of her innovative ideas and organized implementation, student achievement becomes a wonderful by-product of the entire team’s hard work.

daniel smith2021 Outstanding Principal Finalist

Daniel W. Smith
Lake Braddock Secondary School, Region 4

Daniel is a passionate educator that is deeply committed to preparing each student for success. Drawing on his experience over the past 15 years as a principal, he has been able to successfully lead Lake Braddock Secondary School and positively impact students and schools across FCPS. Leading the largest school in Virginia, Daniel has brought the community together to design and operationalize a clear vision of success. This vision has empowered the students, staff, and stakeholders to develop new and innovative approaches to teaching, learning and leadership. Student voice and leadership, through the 70-member Principal’s Cabinet, stakeholder groups, such as the School Planning Council, and staff empowerment, like the Lead Innovators cohort, are fundamental values that Daniel has been able to leverage in his leadership.

Felicia Eley Usher2021 Outstanding Principal Finalist

Felicia Eley Usher
Weyanoke Elementary School, Region 2

“Felicia is a fierce advocate for every student at Weyanoke, and believes deeply in their individual ability to succeed” a staff member states. Her belief in excellence drives her to create an environment committed to the improvement and refinement of practices in every aspect of Weyanoke Elementary School. Whether ensuring staff members have job-embedded professional development, engaging in feedback conversations with caregivers or dancing with students during the weekly Woodchuck Dance Party, Felicia’s drive to maintain a positive and welcoming atmosphere contributes to students feeling connected and part of the Weyanoke community. As a former student attending Title I schools in Fairfax County, Felicia maintains a unique perspective and sense of urgency in providing the best opportunities for Weyanoke’s students.

2021 Outstanding Principal School Recipients

  • Aldrin Elementary School
    • Shane Wolfe
  • Beech Tree Elementary School
    • Karim Daugherty
  • Bull Run Elementary School
    • Jason Pensler
  • Burke School
    • Deborah Strayhorn
  • Bush Hill Elementary School
    • Mary Duffy
  • Centreville High School
    • Chad Lehman
  • Cherry Run Elementary School
    • Mark Bibbee
  • Colin Powell Elementary School
    • Jamie Luerssen
  • Cunningham Park Elementary School
    • Katharine Le
  • Deer Park Elementary School
    • Bob Damato
  • Eagle View Elementary School
    • Kanchana Iyer
  • Edison High School
    • Pamela Brumfield
  • Fairhill Elementary School
    • Candace Hunstad
  • Flint Hill Elementary School
    • Jennifer Hertzberg
  • Franklin Middle School
    • Dustin Wright
  • Groveton Elementary School
    • James Swoger
  • Hayfield Secondary School
    • Martin Grimm
  • Holmes Middle School
    • Margaret Barnes
  • Hunt Valley Elementary School
    • Dave Fee
  • Irving Middle School
    • Cindy Conley
  • Justice High School
    • Maria Eck
  • Keene Mill Elementary School
    • Renee Miller
  • Kent Gardens Elementary School
    • Holly S. McGuigan
  • Kilmer Middle School
    • Amy Miller
  • Kings Park Elementary School
    • Dotty Lin
  • Lake Anne Elementary School
    • Jill Stewart
  • Lake Braddock Secondary School
    • Daniel Smith
  • Lanier Middle School
    • Tammara Hanna
  • Laurel Ridge Elementary School
    • Tonya Wassenberg
  • Louise Archer Elementary School
    • Michelle Makrigiorgos
  • Mount Eagle Elementary School
    • Jean Consolla
  • Oak Hill Elementary School
    • Holly DeVore
  • Orange Hunt Elementary School
    • Karen Tuttle
  • Poe Middle School
    • Jason Pannutti
  • Providence Elementary School
    • Dan Phillips
  • Riverside Elementary School
    • Paul Basdekis
  • Sandburg Middle School
    • Darwin Barker
  • South Lakes High School
    • Kim Retzer
  • Terraset Elementary School
    • Lindsay Trout
  • Union Mill Elementary School
    • Kathleen Case
  • Wakefield Forest Elementary School
    • Sharyn Prindle
  • Waynewood Elementary School
    • Katie Cachine
  • West Springfield Elementary School
    • Kelly Sheers
  • West Springfield High School
    • Michael Mukai
  • Westgate Elementary School
    • Hallie Demetriades
  • Weyanoke Elementary School
    • Felicia Usher
  • Whitman Middle School
    • Craig Herring

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.