Excellence Awards

Recognizing Multiple Pathways to Excellence

Recognizing Multiple Pathways to Excellence

These awards celebrate the efforts and achievements of employees whose job performance produces exceptional results that support the mission and vision of FCPS. The Excellence Awards recognize multiple pathways to results by using nomination categories based on the school system’s goals.

Award Categories

  • Growth: Contributes to the development and/or improvement of programs, services, or curriculum; fosters staff growth, effectiveness, or professional development.
  • Impact on Others: Develops successful partnerships and outreach to parents, businesses, or neighborhoods; provides community services or service learning projects; displays outstanding responsiveness, customer service, or customer satisfaction.
  • Innovation: Contributes to efficiency or effectiveness through cost savings, creativity, or problem-solving; develops new ideas that show promise for a broad impact to FCPS.
  • Student Achievement: Contributes to student success by closing achievement gaps, measuring progress/using assessments, implementing interventions, or student engagement.

Nominating an Employee for an Excellence Award

Any FCPS employee may nominate an employee for an Excellence Award. To learn more about the program or to nominate, please visit our Excellence Awards page on the Employee Hub.

2019 Recipients

Congratulations to the 106 employees who were recognized at this year's Excellence Awards ceremony!

Growth Category

Individual Winners

  • Ashley Berger, First Grade Teacher, Gunston Elementary School

  • Brittany Burke, American Sign Language Teacher, Westfield High School

  • Masooma Hena Hussain, Art Teacher, Hayfield Secondary School

  • Tara Taylor, Educational Specialist, Theatre Arts, Willow Oaks Administrative Center

Team Winners

  • Carboni’s Office Professional Support (COPS) Team

    • Miriam Bernal, Deb Boullianne, Cynthia Bradley, Joan Carboni, Phil Cloutier, Richard Culp, Stacey F. Davis, Annie Dipert, Anita Mitchell, Amy S. Reznick, Jacqueline Roseman, Sherryanne Sooknanan, Tracy Soular, Josette Patricia Worrall

  • China Global Classroom Project

    • Amy Hard, Stacey M. Jones, Tara Taylor, Yubo Zhang

  • Elementary Summer Literacy Symposium Core Team

    • Kathleen Fay, Hillary L Garrett, Rachel Gottheim, Sara Kugler, Rebecca Pollard, Suzanne Whaley

  • Kent Gardens Third Grade Math Team

    • Virginie Mahaux Kops 

  • PBL (Project Based Learning) Project Team

    • Christie Day, Jeff Lonnett

  • Union Mill Team J

    • Jenna D. Campbell, Jamie Clinch, Jordan Loftis

Impact on Others Category

Individual Winners

  • Gordon Brown, ESOL Teacher, Mount Vernon High School

  • Maria Bossa Demarest, Office Assistant, Bailey's Elementary School for the Arts and Sciences

  • Mattie Sue Fallen, Assistant Principal, Braddock Elementary School

  • Caitlin Ferraro, Fourth Grade Teacher, McNair Elementary School

  • Ileana Garcia, Parent Liaison, Dunn Loring Center

  • Kristen M Hollen, STEM Teacher, Beech Tree Elementary School

  • Greg Miller, Director of Student Activities, McLean High School

Team Winners

  • Juvenile Detention Center Puppy Squad

    • Sarah Bornfeld, Rosa A. Caldera, Heather Crouch, Robert Eadie, Eric Shaver, Alisa Shreve, Patricia Skiffington

  • West Potomac JROTC

    • COL(R) Gary Bullard, Clinton Pearson 

Innovation Category

Individual Winners

  • Charlie Cerutti, Machinist/Welder, Woodson Complex

  • Pamela J. Rhodes, Student Information Assistant, Nancy Sprague Technology Center

  • Dean T. Ho, Manager, Network Management, Wilton Woods Center

Team Winners

  • Enterprise Voice (VoIP) Team
    • Joel D. Archer, Ray Bradish, Kris Bunch, Choong-Sup Chung, Matthew Fry, Dean T. Ho, Warren Jeffries, Jerry Large, Sharnnell Lynch, Chad G. Messick, Jim Mogus, Laura Tibbs, James K. Tipton, Cheryl Wood, June Y. Yoon

Student Achievement

Individual Winners

  • Patina Betchar, Second Grade Teacher, Churchill Road Elementary School
  • Nancy Chang, Literacy Specialist, Bryant Alternative Learning Center
  • Jeannine Magwire Shaw, English Teacher, Rocky Run Middle School

Team Winners

  • HACE (Hispanos Al Comino Exitoso)

    • Geneva Ardalan, Dana E. Garcia, Kristi L. Layman, Elvira Nicole Tifft

  • OSS Coordinators Team

    • Stephanie Jerauld, Jennifer Lempp

  • West Springfield High School Learning Innovation Team

    • Leah Conte, Phil Cronin, Elizabeth Fawsett, Benjamin Fiacco, Julie Halse, Sam Donnelly Jonsson, Jerry Mason, Nicole Mourning, Kimberly Nelson, Victoria Schnoor, Nicole Smith, John Thorson, Daphne Vaccarello, Jenny Walker

  • Westlawn Grade Five Team

    • Jaime Bousman-Stanczak, Ramona A Harris, Kevin A. Heron, James Honnold, Tracey Caviness Jackson, Tiffany A. Jones, Chrysanthi Kyrgos, Grant Maloney, Robyn Mejia, Hanah Nam, Kaleigh O'Donnell, Sean Stuebner, Meghan Winters, Anna Yim

  • Young Mens Leadership Group

    • Kevin A. Angelo, Justin Simmons, Debra Youngberg

  • View the photo gallery from the event

Any FCPS employee may nominate an employee for an Excellence Award. To learn more about the program or to nominate, please visit our Excellence Awards page on the Employee Hub.

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.