Highlights from the June 13, 2019 Regular School Board Meeting

School Board
June 18, 2019

The June 13, 2019, regular meeting of the School Board opened with a performance of the National Anthem by the Liya Ensemble from Spring Hill Elementary School under the direction of Ruth Donahue. 


The Board recognized Camden Wiseman, a senior at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, as the recipient of the 2019 School Board Character Award.


The Board also recognized Matthew Capuano-Rizzo, from George C. Marshall High School, as the recipient of the 2019 Laura Ashley Piper Scholarship.


The Board honored the School Resource Officers, and recognized National Safety and Law Enforcement Officer Month.


The Board recognized and congratulated Dewberry, Integrity Management Services, and Worldgate LLC, for being selected members of the 2019 Virginia School Boards Association Business Honor Roll.


The Board honored Region 3 Assistant Superintendent Terry Dade and thanked him for his 15 years of service to Fairfax County Public Schools.


Assistant Superintendent of Special Services Teresa Johnson, presented the Strategic Plan Goal 2: Caring Culture report.


The School Board approved Friday, July 5, 2019 as a paid holiday for all twelve-month Fairfax County Public Schools employees.


The next regular business meeting of the School Board will be on Thursday, June 20, 2019.