Three Student Publications Named NSPA Pacemaker Finalists

News Release
November 16, 2020

Three Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) student news publications have been selected as Pacemaker Finalists by the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA). Of the 60 student newspapers-newsmagazines on the list this year, only three are from Virginia, all from Fairfax County. Pacemaker winners will be announced at the Journalism Education Association (JEA)-NSPA virtual Fall National High School Journalism convention on November 21.

Pacemaker Finalists are:

  • tjTODAY, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology; editors: Justin Chang, Irina Lee, and Grace Mak; adviser: Erinn Harris.
  • The A-Blast, Annandale High School; editors: Suad Mohamed and Manny Precht; adviser: Alan Weintraut.
  • The Highlander, McLean High School; editors: Nicholas Lohman, Dasha Makarishcheva, and Ava Rotondo; adviser: Lindsay Benedict.

Of the 60 newspapers, newsmagazines, and specialty magazines recognized as finalists, 24 will earn Pacemakers.

In addition to demonstrating excellence in key areas including coverage, writing, editing, design, and photography, the winning newspapers took risks and served as a strong voice for its student audience.