Teaching Artists Display Their Creativity at Annual Artist Teacher Exhibition

News Release
October 07, 2019

In collaboration with the Workhouse Arts Center, the Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) Fine Arts Office presents the 12th annual Artist Teacher Exhibition, an art exhibition recognizing the creativity and technical expertise of FCPS art teachers, beginning Wednesday, October 9. 

Teachers were invited to submit original works for consideration. This year, 111 original works of art were submitted by 56 teachers. Art Juror Ju Yun, owner and director of Ju Ju Art Gallery and J Art Studios, selected 50 artworks to be included in the exhibition. 

The exhibition will be open to the public from October 9 through Saturday, October 26, in the McGuire Woods Gallery, Workhouse Arts Center, 9601 Ox Road, Lorton. A reception will be held on the evening of October 12 from 6 to 8 p.m. Featured visual artists include: 

  • Rachel Albert, Bryant School
  • Zartakshtai Babai, Laurel Hill Elementary
  • Julia Bargo, Madison High
  • Genevieve Brandenberger, Braddock Elementary
  • Tressa Breton, Hayfield Secondary
  • Lauren Patrizi Carpenter, Providence Elementary
  • Christina Carroll, McLean High 
  • Christopher Clark, Herndon Middle
  • Denise Corcoran, Newington Forest
  • Lisa Devore, Stenwood Elementary
  • Heather Dilatush, Fairfax High
  • Melissa Dovey, Garfield Elementary
  • Matt Dunn, Madison High
  • Susannah Edwards, Archer Elementary
  • Kelly Fergus, Keene Mill Elementary
  • Elaine Florimonte, Westfield High
  • Liz Frank, Hybla Valley Elementary
  • Ruth Furpahs, Carson Middle
  • Jean-Marie Galing, Willow Oaks Center
  • Carrie Garvey, Robinson Secondary
  • Julie Gilmore, Mount Vernon High
  • W. Joe Guzman, Mosby Woods Elementary
  • Sarina Haris, Waples Mill Elementary
  • Adam Hatchl, Oakton High
  • Rob Hawkins, Holmes Middle
  • Nathan Johnson, Bucknell Elementary
  • Maureen Kieffer, Orange Hunt Elementary
  • Kate Knizner, Robinson Secondary
  • Joyce Lin, Hayfield Elementary
  • Johanna Little, Madison High
  • Janet M. Lundeen, Jackson Middle
  • Bethany L. Mallino, Wolftrap Elementary
  • Rory Marcaccio Schaffer, Centreville High
  • Jayne Matricardi-Burke, Woodson High
  • Susan Mosios, White Oaks Elementary
  • Anne Nagy, Dranesville Elementary
  • Leslie O'Shaughnessy, Lee High
  • Wendy Pierce, Westfield High
  • Angelika Schafer, Mount Vernon High
  • Andy Saffron, Lake Braddock Secondary
  • Suzy Scollon, Bailey’s Upper Elementary
  • Casey Shannon, Hayfield Secondary
  • Susan Silva, Willow Oaks Center
  • Ramandip Singh, South County Middle
  • Josephine Stokes, Lake Braddock Secondary
  • Amy Stoll, West Potomac High
  • Richelle María Vargas Mendieta, Mount Vernon High
  • Kate Wallestad, Justice High
  • Jonathan Weiner, Westlawn Elementary
  • Ming Zaleski, Hunt Valley Elementary

For more information, contact Aaron Stratten at 571-423-4536 or acstratten@fcps.edu