Six Students Receive 2019 Congressional Award from U.S. Congress

News Release
June 11, 2019

Six Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) students have been named recipients of the 2019 Congressional Award’s Gold Medal, the U.S. Congress’s award for young Americans.  Recipients include:
From Virginia’s 10th Congressional District:

  •  Varun Kota, Chantilly High School and Chantilly Academy.
  •  Madeleine LeBeau, Chantilly High School.

From Virginia’s 11th Congressional District:

  • Samantha Lee, Madison High School and Fairfax Academy.
  • Manvi Punukollu, Woodson High School and Falls Church Academy.
  • Timothy Rah, Robinson Secondary School.
  • Kayla Rothstein, West Springfield High School.

The Congressional Award challenges students to set goals in four program areas: voluntary public service, personal development, physical fitness, and expedition-exploration. Participants earn gold, silver, and bronze Congressional Award medals and certificates. Students register for the program when they turn 13½ and must complete their activities by their 24th birthday.

Gold Medalists will be honored at a special ceremony in Washington, D.C., in June.

More information about the program can be found online.


For additional information, contact the FCPS Office of Communication and Community Relations at 571-423-1200.