Seven FCPS Graduates Named 2022 National Merit Scholarship Winners

July 11, 2022

Seven Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) 2022 graduates have been named winners of college-sponsored scholarships by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

Recipients, with their probable career fields in parentheses, are:

  • Geoffrey Dubay of West Potomac High School (law), National Merit University of Alabama Scholarship.
  • William Graf of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST) (undecided), National Merit Bowdoin College Scholarship.
  • Hai Lun Bian of TJHSST (computer science), National Merit University of Maryland Scholarship. 
  • John Kim of TJHSST (computer science), National Merit University of Maryland Scholarship.
  • Arjun Jagdeesh of TJHSST (medicine), National Merit Virginia Commonwealth University Scholarship.
  • Nathaniel Garcia of McLean High School (psychology), National Merit Pomona College Scholarship. 
  • Kelvin Yan of McLean High School (computer science), National Merit University of Florida Scholarship. 

College-sponsored Merit Scholarships provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. Nationwide, more than 7,200 students have won Merit Scholarship awards in 2022. This is the final group of scholarship recipients for the class of 2022.

Each September, National Merit Semifinalists are selected on a state-representational basis in numbers proportional to each state’s percentage of the national total of graduating high school seniors. Semifinalists for 2022 are students with the highest scores on the 2020 Preliminary SAT-National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT-NMSQT®), which serves as an initial screen of program entrants. Winners are chosen by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which administers the program.