Nine Students Named Winners of 2022 National Merit Corporate-Sponsored Scholarships

April 27, 2022

This web page is being translated through "machine translation" using Google Translate. [Disclaimer]

Nine Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) students have been awarded 2022 corporate-sponsored scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. The students are part of a group of more than 1,000 National Merit finalists chosen to receive scholarships financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.

Winners of the corporate-sponsored scholarships, with their probable career fields in parentheses, are: 

  • Eugene Gonzalez of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (mathematics), National Merit Raytheon Scholarship. 
  • Srinidhi Yelimati of Chantilly High School (healthcare), National Merit Raytheon Scholarship. 
  • Michelle Liu of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST) (information technology), National Merit Northrop Grumman Scholarship. 
  • Manda Wang Xie of TJHSST (law), National Merit Dr. James R. Schlesigner Memorial Scholarship. 
  • Elliot Lee of TJHSST (undecided), National Merit Leidos, Inc., Scholarship. 
  • Anika Ajay Joshi of Westfield High School (statistics), National Merit Raytheon Scholarship. 
  • Emilie Kim of McLean High School (statistics), National Merit General Dynamics Corporation Scholarship. 
  • Arya Grayeli of TJHSST (computer science), National Merit Senator Charles S. Robb Scholarship. 
  • Michelle Du of TJHSST (law), National Merit Ellucian Scholarship. 

Corporate sponsors provide merit scholarship awards for National Merit finalists who are children of their employees, who are residents of communities the companies serve, or who have college majors or career interests the sponsors want to encourage.

Corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and range from $1,000 to $10,000 per year. Others provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. Recipients can use the awards at regionally accredited U.S. colleges or universities of their choice.