Longfellow Middle Debaters Celebrate Successful Season

School News
June 11, 2018

Longfellow debate team membersThe Longfellow Middle debate team of Anjali Krishnan, Alyssa Gorbaneva, and Ariana Elahi won the DC City Championship, individually finishing in fifth, eleventh, and sixteenth place, respectively.  Longfellow’s four teams finished second in total wins and third in winning percentage.  The topics for discussion at the tournament included cryptocurrencies do more good than harm; the current proposal for a mixed-use development at the McMillian Sand Filtration Site in Washington, D.C. (debating both sides of this topic); and an impromptu topic: of all the seasons, summer is the best.  Krishnan, Gorbaneva, and Elahi finished 20th at the Eastern Regional Tournament in Manhattan; the debaters competed in all five tournaments along with Yanni Aknine, Grace Kim, Zoe Li, and Ben Woods.  Gorbaneva leaves Longfellow as the most accomplished debate team member in school history.  In addition to receiving many individual trophies, she is the first student to win back-to-back city championships on two different teams. Members of the 2017-18 Longfellow Middle debate team included Samantha Abrishami, Yanni Aknine, Sophia Asimos, Patrick Bai, Sierra Balleisen, Christina Boehm, Ellie Chen, Mallika Dandamudi, Riya Dev, Ariana Elahi, Jeannie Eom, Tarushii Goel, Alyssa Gorbaneva, Emma Gosse, Cate Kanapathy, Emilie Kim, Grace Kim, Anjali Krishnan, Euijin Lee,  Zoe Li,  Daphnie Lu, Sharon Nimesh, Naveen Patury, Caroline Raymond, Ritika Rohatgi, Leah Siegel, Wanli Tan, Grace Tang, and Ben Woods. Contact news liaison Lisa Hoyle at lmhoyle@fcps.edu