Four Schools Earn 2019 Governor’s Award for Educational Excellence

News Release
May 29, 2019

Chesterbrook Elementary School, Carson Middle School, Cooper Middle School, and Longfellow Middle School are among five schools statewide to earn the 2019 Governor’s Award for Educational Excellence, the highest recognition in the Virginia Index of Performance (VIP) awards for advanced learning and achievement.  The VIP incentive program recognizes schools and divisions that exceed state and federal accountability standards and achieve excellence goals established by Virginia’s governor and the Board of Education. 

Recipients of the Award for Educational Excellence must meet all state and federal achievement benchmarks, achieve all applicable excellence goals for elementary reading, enrollment in Algebra I by the eighth grade, enrollment in college-level courses, high school graduation, attainment of advanced diplomas, increased attainment of career and industry certifications and, if applicable, participation in the Virginia Preschool Initiative.

A total of 28 Fairfax County Schools were named recipients of the Board of Education Excellence Awards, and 22 schools earned the Board of Education’s Distinguished Achievement Awards.

Schools earning the Board of Education Excellence Award include: Chantilly High, Churchill Road Elementary, Colvin Run Elementary, Floris Elementary, Forestville Elementary, Greenbriar West Elementary, Haycock Elementary, Keene Mill Elementary, Lake Braddock Secondary, Langley High, Madison High, Mantua Elementary, McLean High, Mosby Woods Elementary, Oak Hill Elementary, Oakton High, Poplar Tree Elementary, Robinson Secondary, Rocky Run Middle, Sangster Elementary, Spring Hill Elementary, Springfield Estates Elementary, Thomas Jefferson High for Science and Technology, West Springfield High, Westbriar Elementary, Willow Springs Elementary, Wolftrap Elementary, and Woodson High.  These schools were honored for meeting all state and federal accountability benchmarks and for making significant progress toward goals for increased student achievement and expanded educational opportunities set by the Board of Education.

Schools earning the Board of Education Distinguished Achievement Award include: Belvedere Elementary, Camelot Elementary, Canterbury Woods Elementary, Centreville High, Crossfield Elementary, Fairfax High, Flint Hill Elementary, Fox Mill Elementary, Franklin Sherman Elementary,  Frost Middle, Great Falls Elementary, Kilmer Middle, Lees Corner Elementary, Louise Archer Elementary, Marshall High, Navy Elementary, Oakton Elementary, Terra Centre Elementary, Thoreau Middle, Wakefield Forest Elementary, Waynewood Elementary, and West Springfield Elementary. These schools were recognized for meeting all state and federal benchmarks and for making progress toward the goals of the governor and the Board of Education.

More information about Virginia’s VIP incentive program for schools and school divisions is available on the VDOE website.


For more information, contact the FCPS Office of Communication and Community Relations at 571-423-1200.