Forty-One Student Musicians Selected for Statewide Honors

News Release
October 25, 2018

Forty-one student musicians from Fairfax County public schools have been selected for statewide honors and will perform at the 2018 Virginia Music Educators Association annual professional development conference November 15-17 in Hot Springs.

Seven students from six high schools were named to the All-Virginia Jazz Band and Ensemble, which will perform on November 15. They are: 

  • Christina Alegre of Madison High School.
  • Sam Bararo of South Lakes High School.
  • Matt Baker and Aiden Rodeschin of Lake Braddock Secondary School.
  • Charlie Gorham of South County High School.
  • Evan Holloway of Chantilly High School.
  • Laura Gersony of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology. 

The Jazz Band is under the direction of Jared Sims, director of jazz at West Virginia University, and the Jazz Ensemble is under the direction of Steve Wiest, multiple Grammy-nominated jazz composer and trombonist. 

One student was named to the Guitar Ensemble:  Rachel Zindler of Woodson High School. This ensemble is under the direction of Glen McCarthy, retired FCPS teacher and now adjunct faculty member at George Mason University.

Twenty-nine seniors and four alternates from 11 high schools will perform in the Honors Choir, under the direction of Elena Sharkova, artistic director of the Symphony Silicon Valley Chorale. FCPS students who are members of the 2018 Honors Choir are:

  • Centreville High School: Diane Jung, Ricardo Avalos Luna, Patrick Kaczmarek, and Cindy Tran (alternate).
  • Edison High School: Angeline Ignacio.
  • Fairfax High School: Brigid Smullen.
  • Herndon High School: Kaitlyn Cleverly.
  • Lake Braddock Secondary School: Margaret Wathen, Morgan Kelso, and Eric Gilbertson.
  • Langley High School: Lindsey Bertin, Caroline Stock, Ann Chen, Nick Zoski, Alex Hanna, and Chris Wallach.
  • Madison High School: Lucy Breedlove, Jeffrey Ware, and Ryan Farhadi.
  • Oakton High School: Eleanor Jacobson and Julia Ferri.
  • Robinson Secondary School: Matilda Lukacs (alternate).
  • Westfield High School: Emma Wolfe and Emili Bidinger (alternate).
  • Woodson High School: Maya Cooper, Victoria Lee, Madeleine Donat, Eric Tysarczyk, Rohan Selvin, Gin Choi, Miles Guth, Will Ivey, and Meghan Willey (alternate).


For more information, contact Katrina Chaney at