Fifty-Two Students Selected as 2019 Presidential Scholar Candidates

News Release
February 05, 2019

Fifty-two seniors have been selected as candidates for the 2019 Presidential Scholars program, designed to recognize and honor some of the country’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

The program has been expanded twice: to recognize students demonstrating exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts; and to recognize students demonstrating ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Up to 161 students will be named Presidential Scholars later in the spring.

Fairfax County Public Schools students named Presidential Scholar candidates are:

Chantilly High School: Abhishek Das and Diego Gutierrez.

Hayfield Secondary School: David Toomer.

Langley High School: Helena Lu.

Madison High School: Michelle Xu.

McLean High School: Veronica Lang, Noah Schneier, Rosy Sultana, and Kristen Waagner.

Oakton High School: Benjamin Furukawa, Jonathan Guo, and Kenan Murray.

Robinson Secondary School: Joseph Tirre.

South County High School: Siena Martin and Hajar Zaheer.

Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology : Nishanth Anand, Adam Ardeishar, Danielle Castro, Junhyun Chong, Kazuya Chue, Mithra Dhinakaran, Debbie Dong, Claire Fan, Zane Givens, Noah Holloway, Anica Huang, Eugene Jeong, Irene Kim*, Rishabh Krishnan, James Kuang, Arya Kumar, Joel Lee, Elizabeth Ling, Jack Liu, Vikrant Magadi,  Jimmie Mcever, Mahesh Menon, Afreen Mohideen, Elise Ong, William Tan, Anna Thamasett, Athilesh Thanigal, Kevin Wang, Sophia Wang, Wenbo Wu, and Alan Zheng.

West Potomac High School: Austin Houck.

Westfield High School: Michael Zanotti.

Woodson High School: Daniel Braun, Shelley Heo, Emma Layton, and Kelly Ward.

*Candidate for U.S. Presidential Scholar in Arts.


For more information, contact the FCPS Office of Communication and Community Relations at 571-423-1200.