FCPS Students to Participate in Bike to School Day on Wednesday, May 8

News Release
April 24, 2019

Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) will participate in Bike to School Day on Wednesday, May 8, to promote physical activity and reduce traffic congestion and pollution near schools.

May is National Bike Month. Biking helps us feel energized, engage with our neighbors, and reduce our carbon footprint. Not only does biking to school help foster lifelong healthy habits, but it can also encourage active transportation in the early-life stage. Starting the school day with a bike ride, walk, or roll will ensure that students are awake and ready to learn.

Students and employees are encouraged to bike or walk to school and work on May 8.  Parents are encouraged to accompany their children to school, and to work with their school and PTA or PTO to assemble bike trains or walking groups for the event.  Schools that are launching a school-wide effort to participate can register online.

Schools that have registered for Bike to School Day to date include:  Aldrin Elementary, Belle View Elementary, Bush Hill Elementary, Cardinal Forest Elementary, Centreville Elementary, Cherry Run Elementary, Churchill Road Elementary, Clearview Elementary, Colvin Run Elementary, Crestwood Elementary, Cunningham Park Elementary, Deer Park Elementary, Dogwood Elementary, Fairhill Elementary, Fort Hunt Elementary, Franklin Middle, Frost Middle, Glasgow Middle, Graham Road Elementary, Greenbriar West Elementary, Haycock Elementary, Hayfield Elementary, Hunt Valley Elementary, Island Creek Elementary, Kilmer Middle, Lake Anne Elementary, Lane Elementary, Lemon Road Elementary, Liberty Middle, Little Run Elementary, Marshall Road Elementary, Navy Elementary, North Springfield Elementary, Oak Hill Elementary, Poe Middle, Poplar Tree Elementary, Providence Elementary, Rocky Run Middle, Sandburg Middle, South County Middle, Spring Hill Elementary, Stratford Landing Elementary, Stone Middle, Sunrise Valley Elementary, Terraset Elementary, Timber Lane Elementary, Twain Middle,  Union Mill Elementary, Vienna Elementary, West Springfield Elementary, Westbriar Elementary, Willow Springs Elementary, and Wolftrap Elementary.

Information on walking and biking to school, including information on applying for grants and safety tips, on the Safe Routes to School web page. Incentives are available from the Safe Routes to School office.

Motorists are urged to be vigilant of bikers and pedestrians on Bike to School Day.


Note:  For more information, contact the Office of Communication and Community Relations at 571-423-1200.