FCPS Publications, Student Journalists Win 2020 NSPA Pacemaker Awards

News Release
November 24, 2020

The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) has awarded Pacemaker Awards to two Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) publications.

Winners of the 2020 Newsmagazine Pacemaker are:

  • tjTODAY, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology; editors: Justin Chang, Irina Lee, and Grace Mak; adviser: Erinn Harris.
  • The Highlander, McLean High School; editors: Nicholas Lohman, Dasha Makarishcheva, and Ava Rotondo; adviser: Lindsay Benedict.

Additionally, staff members from The Highlander were awarded several individual awards in a variety of contests:

Social Justice Reporting, second place, Coming Clean, Heran Essayas, Kyle Hawley, Nicholas Lohman, and Ava Rotondo.

Story of the Year: News Story, fourth place, Supporting Future Changemakers,
Marina Qu.

Newsmagazine Cover, fifth place, Coronavirus edition, Dasha Makarishcheva.

Portfolio: Artist of the Year, fifth place, Darya Makarishcheva.

Local Climate Change Reporting, honorable mention, A Scorched Earth,
Ben Brooks, Dua Mobin, Marina Qu, and Rebeka Rafi.

More information on both Pacemaker and individual awards is available online