Fairfax County’s Joint Environmental Task Force to Hold First Meeting on September 3

News Release
August 19, 2019

Fairfax County’s Joint Environmental Task Force will hold its first meeting on Tuesday, September 3, at 4:30 p.m. The meeting will take place in the large conference room in the Mason Governmental Center, 6507 Columbia Pike, Annandale.

The task force—called JET for short—was jointly created in April by the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors and the Fairfax County School Board. The JET is currently composed of two members from each board, residents, and students:

•    Board of Supervisors Mason District Supervisor and Chair of the Environmental Committee Penny Gross.
•    Board of Supervisors Mount Vernon District Supervisor Dan Storck.
•    School Board Hunter Mill District representative Pat Hynes.
•    School Board Providence District representative Dalia Palchik.
•    Richard Aiken, retired co-founder and president of Fellowship Energy LLC, and previously a senior adviser to the U.S. Secretary of Energy.
•    Karen Campblin, founder, ktcPLan LLC, and co-chair of Transportation Committee, Fairfax County Federation of Citizens Association.
•    Richard Clayton, retired supervisory economist, Division of Administrative Statistics and Labor Turnover, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
•    Rob Johnson, director of sustainability and auxiliary services, Northern Virginia Community College.
•    Megan Mall, executive director, Faith Alliance for Climate Solutions
•    Susan Stillman, chair, Vienna Conservation and Sustainability Commission, Sierra Club leader and Solar on the Schools mentor.
•    Smita Chandra Thomas, sustainability consultant with 20-plus years of experience in energy efficiency and building demand-side management.
•    Greg Ulses, program manager, Leidos, and recognized expert in oceanography, atmospheric, and climate science and related environmental issues.
•    Wendy Gao, senior at Oakton High School and Solar on the Schools Leader and member of the Faith Alliance for Climate Solutions, Sierra Club, and Oakton High School Environmental Club.
•    Ire Kim, junior at Woodson High School and member of Solar on the Schools and Woodson High School Environmental Club.

The JET’s mission is to join the political and administrative capabilities of the county and the school system to proactively address climate change and environmental sustainability. It includes community partners from higher education, industry, and community and student advocacy groups to set and meet aggressive goals in areas of common influence, such as workforce development; infrastructure and sustainability of public facilities and transportation; land use planning; communication and community engagement; and other challenges and opportunities as they arise. 

The task force will provide a forum for collaborating and addressing countywide issues and aligning institutional policies and practices pertaining to climate change and environmental sustainability. 

For more information or reasonable ADA accommodations, contact the Mason District Supervisor’s Office at 703-256-7717, TTY 711.