Fairfax County School Board Members Sworn In

December 13, 2019

Recently elected members of the Fairfax County School Board took the oath of office on Thursday, December 12, at Jackson Middle School. The 12 members of the Board, who were elected for a four-year term on November 5, begin their terms on January 1, 2020.

Fairfax County Circuit Court Chief Judge Bruce D. White administered the oath of office to Abrar Omeish, at-large; Karen Keys-Gamarra, at-large; Rachna Sizemore Heizer, at-large; Megan McLaughlin, Braddock District; Melanie Meren, Hunter Mill District; Elaine Tholen, Dranesville District; Tamara Derenak Kaufax, Lee District; Ricardy Anderson, Mason District; Karen Corbett Sanders, Mount Vernon District; Karl Frisch, Providence District; Laura Jane Cohen, Springfield District; and Stella Pekarsky, Sully District.

Corbett Sanders will remain chair of the School Board and Derenak Kaufax will remain as vice chair. School Board officers are elected at the first meeting in July of each year.

A video of the administration of the oath of office is available online.