Fairfax County School Board Elects Karen Corbett Sanders as Chair, Ilryong Moon as Vice Chair

News Release
July 12, 2018

The Fairfax County School Board has elected Karen Corbett Sanders (Mount Vernon District) as chair and Ilryong Moon (at-large) as vice chair for a one-year term. The chair and vice chair assumed office at the July 12 School Board meeting; they are elected by School Board members during the Board’s annual organizational meeting. 

“I am honored by my colleagues to be selected to serve as chair of the Fairfax County School Board,” said Corbett Sanders. “We look forward to continuing the important work supporti our students and teachers as we implement our FCPS strategic plan. We will continue our focus on making the One Fairfax equity goals a reality, achieving excellence in education for every student in Fairfax County.”  

Karen Corbett SandersBorn and raised in Fairfax County, Corbett Sanders is a retired international business executive, a community advocate for healthcare and education issues, past PTA president, and Odyssey of the Mind coach. She has served on boards of directors and operating committees for international telecommunications companies and, locally, on the quality board of Inova Children’s Hospital and the regional board for Odyssey of the Mind. Corbett Sanders earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Notre Dame and a master's degree from Boston University. She serves on the Dean’s Advisory Board of Boston University’s Wheelock School of Education and previously served on the parent advisory board of Creighton University. Corbett Sanders has served on the School Board since 2016 and during the 2017-18 school year, she served as vice chair of the Board.

Ilryong MoonMoon is a partner with the law firm Moon, Park, and Associates, and earned his juris doctor degree from the Marshall-Wythe School of Law, College of William and Mary.  He earned his bachelor of arts in East Asian studies from Harvard University.  Moon is a member of the Annandale Rotary Club and has served as a member of the Fairfax County Planning Commission, the Governor’s Urban Policy Task Force, and the Virginia Advisory Committee of the U.S. Civil Rights Commission.  Previously, he served as a member of the Fairfax-Falls Church Regional Council of the United Way, the Community Service Fund (Fairfax-Falls Church Region), and the United Way.  He is a former ESOL student and father of two FCPS graduates.  He served on the Board previously from July 1995 to 1999, and from January 2004-present.  Moon served as Board chairman in 2006, 2012, and 2013, and as vice chair in 2005 and 2011. 


In addition to the chair and vice chair, members of the Fairfax County School Board, whose terms run to 2019, are:  Sandy Evans (Mason District), Karen Keys-Gamarra (at-large), Pat Hynes (Hunter Mill District), Tamara Derenak Kaufax (Lee District), Ryan McElveen (at-large), Megan McLaughlin (Braddock District), Dalia Palchik (Providence District), Jane Strauss (Dranesville District), Elizabeth Schultz (Springfield District), and Thomas Wilson (Sully District). 

More information about the Fairfax County School Board is available online.