Christine Zhao of TJHSST Named 2018 National High School Journalist of the Year by JEA-NSPA, Student Journalists Recognized

News Release
April 16, 2018

Christine Zhao, a senior at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST), was named the 2018 National High School Journalist of the Year by the Journalism Education Association-National Scholastic Press Association. Zhao was selected from among 36 state winners; she will receive a $3,000 scholarship as part of her recognition. The announcement was made at the JEA-NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention in San Francisco last week. TJHSST is a Fairfax County public school.

Zhao is in her third year of working on tjToday Online, the school’s newsmagazine, where she serves as editor-in-chief of investigations and leads a team of writers who deeply investigate a single topic of interest. She previously served as a team leader and staff writer on the newsmagazine. She is also president and co-founder of Project Talents, co-director of TJ Peer Tutoring, BigSibs coordinator, captain of the crew team, treasurer of the Chinese Honor Society, participates in Project CODEt, and is a class code and writing center tutor. She also participates in the varsity cross country team. 

In the Best of Show competition, the following publications were recognized: Newspaper Broadsheet, fourth place, The A-Blast, Annandale High School, Alan Weintraut, adviser; Yearbook (289-336 Pages), fourth place, The Clan, McLean High School, Meghan Percival, adviser; Yearbook (337 or more pages), tenth place, Odyssey, Chantilly High School, Mary Kay Downes, adviser.

Four students from McLean High School brought home awards in the write-off competitions.  Awards included: Literary Magazine: Poetry, superior award to Anika Karmel; Newswriting, excellent award to Maren Kranking; Editorial Cartooning, excellent award to Dasha Makarishcheva; and First-Year Photo, excellent award to Anna Brykczynski. 

For more information, contact the Fairfax County Public Schools Office of Communication and Community Relations at 571-423-1200.