School Health Advisory Committee

Citizen Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

School Board Liaison

Sandy Evans, Mason District Representative

Staff Liaison

Lea M. Skurpski, Director, Office of Operations and Strategic Planning, Department of Special Services

Committee Purpose

Va. Code §22.1-275.1—Each school board may establish a school health advisory board of no more than twenty members which shall consist of broad-based community representation including, but not limited to, parents, students, health professionals, educators, and others. The advisory board shall assist with the development of health policy in the school division and the evaluation of the status of school health, health education, the school environment, and health services.

Participation, Implementation, and Support of the FCPS Wellness Policy

The Fairfax County School Board will engage members of the school community and the general public to develop, assess, review and/or revise the FCPS Wellness Policy and Regulations. The School Health Advisory Committee will assess and review the Wellness Policy and Regulations to make recommendations to the School Board and serve as a vehicle for engaging the public.

View information on FCPS Wellness Leadership

2018-19 Committee Charge

The FCPS school board hereby charges the School Health Advisory Committee with examining and evaluating wellness metrics and making recommendations, and with examining factors impacting student social-emotional health at all levels.

FCPS Student and Staff Health and Wellness Policy and Regulation

View the Student and Staff Health and Wellness Policy 2100
View the Student and Staff Health and Wellness Regulation 2100

School Health Advisory Committee Reports

View 2017-2018 Annual Report
View 2017-2018 Attendance Report

Wellness Reporting

View 2017-2018 School Wellness Survey Responses and Summary Report

2018-19 Meeting Schedule 

Regular meetings of the Committee are open to the public. Public comment during a meeting is limited to the first fifteen minutes of the meeting and each speaker presenting public comments shall be allowed three minutes. Persons wishing to present public comments during a Committee meeting must provide advance notice by contacting the FCPS staff liaison to the School Board at or the Committee Chair.

“Tentative dates. Final dates to be approved by committee on September 19.”

Meeting Date Location/Time Agenda Meeting Minutes
September 26, 2018 Gatehouse RM 5055 7-9 pm    
October 17, 2018 Gatehouse RM 1600 7-9 pm    
November 14, 2018 Gatehouse RM 3051/3050 7-9 pm    
December 19, 2018 Gatehouse RM 1600 7-9 pm    
January 16, 2019 Gatehouse RM 1600 7-9 pm    
February 20, 2019 Gatehouse RM 1600 7-9 pm    
March 20, 2019 Gatehouse RM 1600 7-9 pm    
April 17, 2019 Gatehouse RM 1600 7-9 pm    
May 15, 2019 Gatehouse RM 1600 7-9 pm    
School Health Wellness Wheel: Click for information on FCPS School Health and Wellness Resources. Includes the following categories: Physical Education; Family & Community Involvement; Counseling, Psychological & Social Services; Healthy & Safe School Environment; Health Education; Health Services; Physical Activity; Health Promotion for Staff; Nutrition Education, Promotion & Food Marketing; Nutrition Guidelines; Sleep Health; and Food & Nutrition.
View information on FCPS School Health and Wellness


2018-19 Membership 

Diana Nash, At-Large - McElveen
Seung Je Yo, At-Large - Moon
Vacant, At-Large - Keys-Gamarra 
Vacant, Braddock District
Vacant, Dranesville District
Vacant, Hunter Mill District
Vacant, Lee District
Holly Spanier, Mason District
Vacant, Mount Vernon District
Phyllis Payne, Providence District
Vacant, Springfield District
Vacant, Sully District 

Vacant, Student Representative

Vacant, City of Fairfax School Board
Vacant, Fairfax County Council of PTAs
Joanna Hemmat, Fairfax County Health Department
Vacant, Partnership for Healthier Kids
Vacant, Medical Society of Northern Virginia

Carol Stiller, League of Women Voters of the Fairfax Area

Lorraine Trouton, DSS, Manager, School Health Services
Vacant, Elementary School Principal's Association
Vacant, High School/Middle School Principal’s Association
Lea Skurpski (Associate), DSS, Director, Operations & Strategic Planning
Liz Payne (Associate), ISD, Coordinator, Health & Physical Education
Richard Michelback (Associate), DF&TS, Specialist, Office of Safety & Security
Jennifer Spears (Associate), DSS, Specialist, Intervention & Prevention Services
Morgan McGhee (Associate), DFS, Specialist, Food and Nutrition Services
Camille Bartus (Associate), Specialist, HR & Wellness

Associates are non-voting members.

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes

Archived Information