Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee

Citizen Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

School Board Liaison

Tammy Derenak Kaufax

Staff Liaison 

Kirsten Maloney, K-12 Program Coordinator, Department of Instructional Services

Committee Purpose

Va. Code §22.1-18.1—Each school board may appoint, in accordance with the regulations of the Board of Education, a local advisory committee on gifted education. The local advisory committee on gifted education shall annually review the local plan for the education of gifted students, including revisions, and determine the extent to which the plan for the previous year was implemented.

2019-20 Committee Charge

Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee (AAPAC) will explore successful practices at schools that provide frequent access to AAP strategies and curriculum in K-2 and propose a set of school-based actions to increase access to challenging learning experiences at the primary grade levels.

2019-20 Membership

The Advanced Academic Programs Advisory Committee consists of members representing School Board members, a student representative, and members nominated by community organizations and school administration.

School Board Member Representatives

Jane Strauss, School Board Liaison
Meredith Egwuatu, At Large - Keys-Gamarra
Shaista Keating, At Large - Sizemore Heizer
Lili Cui, At Large - Omeish
Michelle Hebert-Griffen, Braddock District
Suzanne Raber, Dranesville District
Paul Thomas, Hunter Mill District
Joanna Raffetto, Lee District
James Andrew Albright, Mason District
Faye Wagoner, Providence District
Keli Jacewitz, Springfield District
Elizabeth Rodriguez, Fairfax City School Board
Olivia Henry, Student Representative

Organization Representatives

Lisa Bertin, Fairfax County Association for Gifted
Terri Radziewski, FCCPTA
Samaine Lockwood, League of Women Voters
Edward Osborne, MSAOC and member of Cultural Proficiency Project Team
Nancy Holincheck, George Mason University

FCPS Staff Representatives

Kirsten Maloney, Coordinator, Advanced Academic Programs
Shane Wolfe, Elementary Principal
Patricia Edwards, Elementary Teacher
Chris Musgnug, Middle School Assistant Principal
Laura Bieryla, Middle School Teacher
Tangy Millard, High School Principal
Szilvia Oszko, High School Teacher

Meeting Dates

The following is the upcoming Advanced Academics Program Advisory Committee meeting schedule. Unless otherwise noted, all meetings will be held at the Alan Leis Center, 7423 Camp Alger Ave, Falls Church, VA 22042 in room 109. The committee meets once a month, from 7 to 8:30 p.m.  For more information, individuals may call Kirsten Maloney, the staff liaison, at 571-423-4740.

Meeting Date Location Minutes
October 8, 2019 Leis, Room 109 October
November 12, 2019 Leis, Room 109 November
December 10, 2019 Leis, Room 109 December
January 7, 2020 Leis, Room 109 Weather Cancellation
February 11, 2020 Leis, Room 109 February
March 10, 2020 Leis, Room 109 March
April 14, 2020 Leis, Room 109  
May 12, 2020 Leis, Room 109  

Annual Reports