Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
(703) 642-4171

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Centreville High School

Jimmy Sanabria
jasanabria@fcps.edu
(703) 802-5409

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
cjbowerman@fcps.edu
(703) 222-8161

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
gsdombrowski@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8091

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
namelnick@fcps.edu
(703) 219-2201

  • Softball - JV  

  • Softball - Varsity Assistant 

------------------

Falls Church High School

Jeanne Kelly
jkelly@fcps.edu
(703) 207-4025

  • Varsity Boys Lacrosse

  • JV Girls Lacrosse

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
(703) 924-7470

  • JV Assistant – Girls Soccer

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
jmfrohm@fcps.edu
(703) 810-2211

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
bdgarvey@fcps.edu
(703) 824-3960

  • JV Girls Soccer

  • Assistant Varsity Girls Soccer

  • Assistant Boys Lacrosse

  • JV Boys Lacrosse

  • Football - Varsity Assistant and Freshman Assistant

  • Football - Offseason Strength & Conditioning 

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Jim Patrick
jpatrick@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • JV Softball - Head 

  • Head Freshman Football

  • Varsity Football Assistant - Quarterback Coach

  • Varsity Golf Head

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
gjnoto@fcps.edu
(703) 287-2751

  • Varsity Football

  • JV Girls Lacrosse

  • Assistant Girls Tennis

  • Assistant Baseball

------------------

Lee High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8352

  • Head Boys Tennis

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
(703) 319-2360

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
jswarm@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5412

  • Boys Lacrosse Defense 

  • JV Boys Lacrosse

  • JV Softball

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
gmmiller@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5861

  • Indoor Track/Spring Track- Field Events 

  • Field Hockey- Assistant 

  • Football- Varsity and Freshman Assistant

  • Boys Tennis- Head 

  • Baseball- JV Head 

  • Boys Lacrosse- Assistant 

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
flbelli@fcps.edu
(703) 619-3141

  • Head Varsity Boys Soccer

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
plfull@fcps.edu 
(703) 319-2763

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Jeff Ferrell
jferrell@fcps.edu
(703) 426-2126

  • No advertised openings this week.

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Brett Garner
bmgarner@fcps.edu
(703) 446-1678

  • Dive 

  • Head Women’s Crew 

  • Track & Field - Pole Vault

------------------

South Lakes High School

Leah Conte
lmconte@fcps.edu
(703) 715-4518

  • Head Boys Varsity Lacrosse

  • JV Varsity Assistant Softball

  • JV Assistant Softball 

  • Assistant Varsity Girls’ Tennis 

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
(703) 750-8330

  • Head Varsity Girls Soccer 

  • Assistant Varsity Baseball

  • JV Head Baseball

  • Assistant Varsity Softball 

  • Varsity Football Assistant Offense

  • Varsity Football Assistant Defense 

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
abhelmick@fcps.edu
(703) 718-2560

  • Head Girls Lacrosse

  • Assistant Crew 

  • Assistant Wrestling 

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
apmuir@fcps.edu
(703) 913-3909

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
(703) 488-6400

  • Baseball JV Head 

------------------

W.T. Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(703) 503-4682

  • Baseball - Varsity Assistant 
  • Baseball - JV Head Coach
  • Softball - Assistant Coach 

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.