Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
(703) 642-4171

  • Softball - Assistant 

------------------

Centreville High School

Jimmy Sanabria
jasanabria@fcps.edu
(703) 802-5409

  • JV Girls Soccer Head

  • JV Softball Head 

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
cjbowerman@fcps.edu
(703) 222-8161

  • JV Boys Soccer Head 

  • JV Softball Assistant

  • Varsity Softball  Assistant

  • Girls Tennis Head 

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
gsdombrowski@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8091

  • Head Varsity Softball

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
namelnick@fcps.edu
(703) 219-2201

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Falls Church High School

Jeanne Kelly
jkelly@fcps.edu
(703) 207-4025

  • Varsity Girls Soccer 

  • JV Baseball

  • Assistant Varsity Baseball

  • Assistant Varsity Boys Lacrosse

  • Assistant JV Boys Lacrosse

  • Assistant Softball

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
(703) 924-7470

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
jmfrohm@fcps.edu
(703) 810-2211

  • Head Coach – Cheer

  • Assistant Coach – Varsity Baseball / Pitching

  • Assistant Coach – JV Baseball

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
bdgarvey@fcps.edu
(703) 824-3960

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Jim Patrick
jpatrick@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
gjnoto@fcps.edu
(703) 287-2751

  • Assistant Girls Tennis

  • Assistant JV Football

------------------

Lee High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8352

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
(703) 319-2360

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
jswarm@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5412

  • Head Boy’s Tennis 

  • JV Head Girls Lacrosse 

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
gmmiller@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5861

  • Cheerleading - Assistant 

  • Field Hockey - Assistant 

  • Girls Tennis - Head 

  • Girls Lacrosse - Assistant 

  • Baseball - Varsity Assistant

  • Track & Field - Throws 

  • Softball - JV Head 

  • Football - Head Freshman, Varsity Assistant 

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
flbelli@fcps.edu
(703) 619-3141

  • Head Varsity Cheerleading
  • Head Varsity Boys Soccer
  • Head JV Baseball
  • Assistant Baseball

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
plfull@fcps.edu 
(703) 319-2763

  • Head Football 
  • Head Volleyball 
  • JV Softball 

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Jeff Ferrell
jferrell@fcps.edu
(703) 426-2126

  • No advertised openings this week.

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Brett Garner
bmgarner@fcps.edu
(703) 446-1678

  • Girls Head JV Lacrosse 
  • Girls Varsity Assistant Lacrosse 
  • Boys Lacrosse JV Head 
  • Head JV Baseball 
  • Assistant JV Baseball  

------------------

South Lakes High School

Linda Sarabia Jones
llsarabiajon@fcps.edu
(703) 715-4518

  • Head Varsity Football 

  • Head Girls Volleyball 

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
(703) 750-8330

  • JV Assistant Baseball 

  • Varsity Assistant Baseball

  • Co-Ed  Varsity Swim 

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
abhelmick@fcps.edu
(703) 718-2560

  • Assistant Varsity Football 

  • JV Softball 

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
apmuir@fcps.edu
(703) 913-3909

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
(703) 488-6400

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

W.T. Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(703) 503-4682

  • •    JV Softball Head Coach 

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.