Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
(703) 642-4171

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Centreville High School

Jimmy Sanabria
jasanabria@fcps.edu
(703) 802-5409

  • Field hockey – Varsity and JV

  • Girls Tennis

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
cjbowerman@fcps.edu
(703) 222-8161

  • Girls Varsity Tennis Head 

  • Golf Head

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
gsdombrowski@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8091

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
namelnick@fcps.edu
(703) 219-2201

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Falls Church High School

Jeanne Kelly
jkelly@fcps.edu
(703) 207-4025

  • Head Spring  Track & Field 

  • Assistant Spring Track & Field

  • Assistant Boys Lacrosse

  • JV Girls Lacrosse

  • Assistant Baseball 

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
(703) 924-7470

  • Head JV Girls Lacrosse

  • Assistant Girls Lacrosse

  • Assistant Track & Field – Field Events/Jumps

  • Assistant Track & Field – Field Events/Hurdles

  • Assistant JV Baseball

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
jmfrohm@fcps.edu
(703) 810-2211

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
bdgarvey@fcps.edu
(703) 824-3960

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Jim Patrick
jpatrick@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
gjnoto@fcps.edu
(703) 287-2751

  • Assistant Track- distance

  • Assistant Track - throws

------------------

Lee High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8352

  • Football O-Line Coach Varsity Assistant

  • Football D-Line Coach Varsity Assistant

  • Football QB Coach Varsity Assistant

  • Football RB Coach Varsity Assistant

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
(703) 319-2360

  • JV Softball Coach

  • Assistant Varsity Cheer Coach

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
jswarm@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5412

  • Assistant - Girls Volleyball

  • JV Softball

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
gmmiller@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5861

  • Indoor Track/Spring Track- Field Events 

  • Field Hockey- Assistant 

  • Girls Tennis- Assistant 

  • Football- Varsity and Freshman Assistant

  • Baseball- Varsity Assistant

  • Boys Lacrosse- Assistant 

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
flbelli@fcps.edu
(703) 619-3141

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
plfull@fcps.edu 
(703) 319-2763

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Jeff Ferrell
jferrell@fcps.edu
(703) 426-2126

  • Head JV Volleyball 

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Brett Garner
bmgarner@fcps.edu
(703) 446-1678

  • Head Women’s Crew 

  • Track & Field – Pole Vault 

  • Assistant Track 

  • Girls Lacrosse JV Head 

  • Girls Lacrosse Assistant 

------------------

South Lakes High School

Leah Conte
lmconte@fcps.edu
(703) 715-4518

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
(703) 750-8330

  • Assistant Varsity Girls Lacrosse

  • JV Head Baseball

  • JV Head Boys Soccer

  • JV Head Girls Soccer

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
abhelmick@fcps.edu
(703) 718-2560

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
apmuir@fcps.edu
(703) 913-3909

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
(703) 488-6400

  • Field Hockey - JV Head, JV Assistant, Varsity Assistant

  • Volleyball - Varsity Head 

------------------

W.T. Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(703) 503-4682

  • No advertised openings this week.

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.