Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
(703) 642-4171

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Centreville High School

Jimmy Sanabria
jasanabria@fcps.edu
(703) 802-5409

  • Volleyball - Varsity Head and Assistant

  • Volleyball - JV Head and Assistant

  • Volleyball - Freshman Head and Assistant

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
cjbowerman@fcps.edu
(703) 222-8161

  • Head - JV Volleyball

  • Assistant - JV Cheer

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
gsdombrowski@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8091

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
namelnick@fcps.edu
(703) 219-2201

  • JV Cheerleading 

  • Assistant Cross Country 

  • Freshmen Volleyball 

------------------

Falls Church High School

Jeanne Kelly
jkelly@fcps.edu
(703) 207-4025

  • Varsity Cheerleading

  • Assistant Wrestling 

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
(703) 924-7470

  • JV/Freshman Cheer

  • Head Cross Country

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
jmfrohm@fcps.edu
(703) 810-2211

  • Volleyball - Freshman Head 

  • Field Hockey - JV Head 

  • Track and Field - Assistant (Overall Program Assistant)

  • Assistant Coach - Wrestling

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
bdgarvey@fcps.edu
(703) 824-3960

  • Varsity Assistant Cheerleading 

  • Varsity Football Assistant 

  • Head Freshmen Football  

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Jim Patrick
jpatrick@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • Head Varsity Girls Basketball

  • JV Assistant Cheer

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
gjnoto@fcps.edu
(703) 287-2751

  • Assistant Field Hockey

  • Dance

------------------

Lee High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8352

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
(703) 319-2360

  • JV Head Field Hockey 

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
jswarm@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5412

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
gmmiller@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5861

  • Field Hockey - Assistant 

  • Cheer - Assistant 

  • Baseball - Varsity Assistant

  • Track & Field - Throws 

  • Football - Freshmen Assistant

  • Dance Team - Assistant Coach

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
flbelli@fcps.edu
(703) 619-3141

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
plfull@fcps.edu 
(703) 319-2763

  • Varsity Volleyball 
  • JV Cheer 

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Jeff Ferrell
jferrell@fcps.edu
(703) 426-2126

  • Assistant Field Hockey
  • Assistant Girls Lacrosse 
  • Head Indoor and Outdoor Track 
  • Assistant Girls Basketball 

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Brett Garner
bmgarner@fcps.edu
(703) 446-1678

  • Varsity Assistant Field Hockey 

  • Varsity Head Cross Country

  • Varsity Head Cheer

  • Assistant Cheerleading

------------------

South Lakes High School

Linda Sarabia Jones
llsarabiajon@fcps.edu
(703) 715-4518

  • Varsity Head Boys Basketball 

  • JV Head Volleyball

  • Freshmen Volleyball

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
(703) 750-8330

  • Policy Debate 

  • Co-Ed Dive 

  • JV Head Girls Lacrosse 

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
abhelmick@fcps.edu
(703) 718-2560

  • JV Wrestling 

  • Assistant Wrestling

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
apmuir@fcps.edu
(703) 913-3909

  • Field Hockey JV Head 
  • Girls/Boys Head Golf 
  • Girls/Boys Head Swim and Dive 

------------------

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
(703) 488-6400

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

W.T. Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(703) 503-4682

  • No advertised openings this week. 

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.