Coaching Opportunities/Requirements

Do you have what it takes to be a great coach? See the current coaching vacancies at our secondary and high schools.

FCPS offers a comprehensive athletics program for high school students. If you have a passion for high school sports and are interested in working with student-athletes, FCPS offers a variety of coaching opportunities each year. You do not have to be a teacher, FCPS has provisions for non-teaching personnel to coach. All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS-approved coaching education program within their first year of employment.

Coaching Education Requirements

All coaches are required to successfully complete an FCPS approved coaching education program within their first year of employment as a coach.
View the Coaching Education information

Student Activities and Athletic Programs

FCPS provide a well-balanced activities program for all levels, and athletics for high school students
Student Activities and Athletics

Call for Coaches

Call for Coaches is posted on most Wednesdays during the school year. The exceptions are during school breaks such as winter break and spring break.

Please use the information provided below to contact the school directly. If you have a question about a particular position, contact the Director of Student Activities at that school (listed below). The schools are listed alphabetically with the school contact listed first followed by the current vacancies.

Annandale High School

John Ellenberger
jellenberger@fcps.edu
(703) 642-4171

  • Boys Basketball - Head JV 

------------------

Centreville High School

Jimmy Sanabria
JASanabria@fcps.edu
(703) 802-5409

  • Assistant Swim

------------------

Chantilly High School

Corey Bowerman
CJBowerman@fcps.edu
(703) 222-8161

  • JV Softball - Head

------------------

Edison High School

Greg Dombrowski
GSDombrowski@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8091

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Fairfax High School

Nancy Melnick
NAMelnick@fcps.edu
(703) 219-2201

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Falls Church High School

Jeanne Kelly
jkelly@fcps.edu
(703) 207-4025

  • Varsity Girls Soccer 

  • JV Baseball

  • Assistant Varsity Baseball

  • JV Softball

------------------

Hayfield Secondary School

E.W. Nowland III
ewnowland@fcps.edu
(703) 924-7470

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Herndon High School

Jonathan Frohm
JMFrohm@fcps.edu
(703) 810-2211

  • Girls JV Soccer 

------------------

Justice High School

Brian Garvey
BDGarvey@fcps.edu
(703) 824-3960

  • Dive 

  • Assistant Boys Soccer

------------------

Lake Braddock Secondary School

Jim Patrick
jpatrick@fcps.edu
703-426-1001

  • Head Boys Tennis

  • Varsity Boys Lacrosse Assistant

------------------

Langley High School

Geoff Noto
GJNoto@fcps.edu
(703) 287-2751

  • JV Baseball

  • JV Boys Soccer

------------------

Lee High School

John James
jfjames@fcps.edu
(703) 924-8352

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Madison High School

John Kenny
jakenny@fcps.edu
(703) 319-2360

  • JV Assistant Wrestling 

  • Head JV Softball 

------------------

Marshall High School

Joe Swarm
JSwarm@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5412

  • JV Head Girls Soccer

  • Boys Tennis Varsity Head 

------------------

McLean High School

Greg Miller
GMMiller@fcps.edu
(703) 714-5861

  • Girls Lacrosse- Assistant 

  • Baseball- Varsity Assistant

  • Track & Field- Throws 

  • Softball- JV Head 

------------------

Mount Vernon High School

Fernando Belli 
FLBelli@fcps.edu
(703) 619-3141

  • Head Dive
  • Head JV Baseball
  • Assistant Baseball
  • Assistant Girls Varsity Basketball

------------------

Oakton High School

Pat Full
PLFull@fcps.edu 
(703) 319-2763

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Robinson Secondary School

Jeff Ferrell
jFerrell@fcps.edu
(703) 426-2126

  • No advertised openings this week.

​​​​​​------------------

South County High School

Brett Garner
bmgarner@fcps.edu
(703) 446-1678

  • Girls JV Lacrosse 
  • Girls Varsity Assistant Lacrosse 
  • Head Men’s Crew   
  • Head Women’s Crew 
  • Swim Assistant 
  • Dive 
  • Head Baseball 
  • Head Boys Lacrosse  
  • JV Assistant Softball
  • Cheerleading JV Assistant
  • Girls Basketball Head Freshman 
  • Girls Basketball Assistant Freshman 

------------------

South Lakes High School

Linda Sarabia Jones
llsarabiajon@fcps.edu
(703) 715-4518

  • Dive

------------------

Thomas Jefferson High School

Rusty Hodges
brhodges@fcps.edu
(703) 750-8330

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

West Potomac High School

Aaron Helmick
ABHelmick@fcps.edu
(703) 718-2560

  • JV Assistant Basketball 

  • Freshman Assistant Basketball 

------------------

West Springfield High School

Andy Muir
APMuir@fcps.edu
(703) 913-3909

  • No advertised openings this week.

------------------

Westfield High School

Terri Towle
tktowle@fcps.edu
(703) 488-6400

  • Girls Lacrosse – JV Head 

  • Girls Lacrosse – Assistant 

  • Baseball – JV Head 

  • Boys Soccer  - JV Head

------------------

W.T. Woodson High School

Dan Checkosky
djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(703) 503-4682

  • Freshmen and JV Cheer (for 19-20 season)

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.