School Health Advisory Committee (SHAC) (2020-21)

Citizen Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

School Board Liaison

Melanie Meren

Staff Liaison

Lea M. Skurpski, Director, Office of Operations and Strategic Planning, Department of Special Services

Committee Purpose

Va. Code §22.1-275.1—Each school board may establish a school health advisory board of no more than twenty members which shall consist of broad-based community representation including, but not limited to, parents, students, health professionals, educators, and others. The advisory board shall assist with the development of health policy in the school division and the evaluation of the status of school health, health education, the school environment, and health services.

2020-21 Committee Charge

Review factors that support student social and emotional wellbeing with a focus on sleep health, brain breaks for secondary school students and electronic device and social media use.

Participation, Implementation, and Support of the FCPS Wellness Policy

The Fairfax County School Board will engage members of the school community and the general public to develop, assess, review and/or revise the FCPS Wellness Policy and Regulations. The School Health Advisory Committee will assess and review the Wellness Policy and Regulations to make recommendations to the School Board and serve as a vehicle for engaging the public. 

Reports, Policies, and Regulations

2020-21 Meeting Schedule 

Members of the public are welcome to attend virtually at

Public Comment at SHAC Meetings During COVID-19 Emergency
During the COVID-19 Emergency, the SHAC will only meet virtually. During this time, Fairfax County and City residents may submit a video or audio testimony by email to A maximum of 10 slots are available, first come, first served. Please submit your video or audio testimony by 5:00 p.m. the day before the meeting. Video and audio testimony should not exceed 3 minutes in length.

  • September 16, 2020 - Regular Meeting, 7 p.m. | View September Agenda

  • *TBD - SB Meeting - Committee Report, 7 p.m.

  • October 21, 2020 - Regular Meeting, 7 p.m. | View October Agenda

  • November 18, 2020 - Regular Meeting

  • December 16, 2020- Regular Meeting

  • January 20, 2021- Regular Meeting

  • February 17, 2021- Regular Meeting

  • March 17, 2021- Regular Meeting

  • April 21, 2021- Regular Meeting

  • May 19, 2021- Regular Meeting

  • *May 25, 2010- SB Meeting - Committee End of Year Report, 7 p.m. 

*Indicates SB meetings and Committee End of Year Reports

Archived Meeting Agendas and Minutes: 2019-20 | 2018-19 | 2017-18 | 2016-17

2020-21 Membership

Vacant, At Large-Keys-Garmarra 
Leina Mamdouh Wahbe, At-Large-Omeish
Beth Spivak, At-Large-Sizemore Heizer
Adriana Glenn, Braddock District
Lori Jacobs, Dranesville
David Whiting, Hunter Mill
Amber Chamberlain, Lee
Vacant, Mount Vernon
Holly Spainer, Mason
Phyllis Payne, Providence
Cecilia Alvarez, Springfield
Danielle Kaubaroulis, Sully
Shreya Papneja, Fairfax County Public Schools-Students
Brenda Silvia-Torma, Fairfax City School Board
Kara Danner, Fairfax County Council of PTA
Joanna Hemmat, Fairfax County Health Department
Vacant, Medical Society of Northern Virginia
Lorraine Trouton, Fairfax County Public Schools, Department of Special Services
Karim Daugherty, Elementary Schools Principal Association
Joe Thompson, High School Principal Association
Ann Smith, Middle School Principal Association
Judy Strum, INOVA
Vacant, League of Women Voters
Camille Bartus, Fairfax County Public Schools, Department of Human Resources
Richard Michelback, Fairfax County Public Schools, Facilities and Transportation Services
Carrie Reynolds, Fairfax County Public Schools, Instructional Services Department
Bethany Koszelak, Fairfax County Public Schools, Department of Special Services
Libby Lyon, Fairfax County Public Schools, Food and Nutrition Services

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes