School Health Advisory Committee (SHAC)

Citizen Advisory Committee

Contact Us

Submit a Question

School Board Liaison

Sandy Evans, Mason District Representative

Staff Liaison

Lea M. Skurpski, Director, Office of Operations and Strategic Planning, Department of Special Services

Committee Purpose

Va. Code §22.1-275.1—Each school board may establish a school health advisory board of no more than twenty members which shall consist of broad-based community representation including, but not limited to, parents, students, health professionals, educators, and others. The advisory board shall assist with the development of health policy in the school division and the evaluation of the status of school health, health education, the school environment, and health services.

Participation, Implementation, and Support of the FCPS Wellness Policy

The Fairfax County School Board will engage members of the school community and the general public to develop, assess, review and/or revise the FCPS Wellness Policy and Regulations. The School Health Advisory Committee will assess and review the Wellness Policy and Regulations to make recommendations to the School Board and serve as a vehicle for engaging the public.

View information on FCPS Wellness Leadership

2018-19 Committee Charge

The FCPS school board hereby charges the School Health Advisory Committee with examining and evaluating wellness metrics and making recommendations, and with examining factors impacting student social-emotional health at all levels.

FCPS Student and Staff Health and Wellness Policy and Regulation

View the Student and Staff Health and Wellness Policy 2100
View the Student and Staff Health and Wellness Regulation 2100

School Health Advisory Committee Reports

View Staff Response to Recommendations 2017-2018
View 2017-2018 Annual Report
View 2017-2018 Attendance Report

Wellness Reporting

View 2017-2018 School Wellness Survey Responses and Summary Report

2018-19 Meeting Schedule 

Regular meetings of the Committee are open to the public. Public comment during a meeting is limited to the first fifteen minutes of the meeting and each speaker presenting public comments shall be allowed three minutes. Persons wishing to present public comments during a Committee meeting must provide advance notice by contacting the FCPS staff liaison to the School Board at or the Committee Chair.

*Tentative dates. Pending committee approval.

Date* Meeting Information
September 26, 2018 7-9 p.m. at Gatehouse in room 5055 - Agenda | Minutes
October 17, 2018 7-9 p.m. at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
November 14, 2018 7-9 p.m. at Gatehouse in room 3051/3050 - Agenda | Minutes
December 19, 2018 - Canceled 7-9 p.m. at Gatehouse in room 1600
January 16, 2019 7-9 p.m. at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
February 20, 2019 - Canceled 7-9 p.m. at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda
March 20, 2019 7-9 p.m. at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda | Minutes
April 24, 2019 7-9 p.m. at Gatehouse in room 5055 - Agenda | Minutes
May 15, 2019 7-9 p.m. at Gatehouse in room 1600 - Agenda
School Health Wellness Wheel: Click for information on FCPS School Health and Wellness Resources. Includes the following categories: Physical Education; Family & Community Involvement; Counseling, Psychological & Social Services; Healthy & Safe School Environment; Health Education; Health Services; Physical Activity; Health Promotion for Staff; Nutrition Education, Promotion & Food Marketing; Nutrition Guidelines; Sleep Health; and Food & Nutrition.
View information on FCPS School Health and Wellness


2018-19 Membership 

Diana Nash, At-Large - McElveen
Seung Je Yo, At-Large - Moon
Stella Pekarsky, At-Large - Keys-Gamarra 
Theresa Sheipe, Braddock District
Lori Jacobs, Dranesville District
David Whiting, Hunter Mill District
Amber Chamberlain, Lee District
Holly Spanier, Mason District
Vacant, Mount Vernon District
Phyllis Payne, Providence District
Maria Cecilia Alvarez, Springfield District
Catherine Stewart, Sully District 

Hannan Mumtaz, Student Representative

Teresa Presson, City of Fairfax School Board
Elizabeth Ende, Fairfax County Council of PTAs
Joanna Hemmat, Fairfax County Health Department

Kate Garsson, INOVA Health System
Kavian MilaniMedical Society of Northern Virginia

Carol Stiller, League of Women Voters of the Fairfax Area

Lorraine Trouton, DSS, Manager, School Health Services
Holly McGuigan, Elementary School Principal's Association
Ann Smith, Middle School Principal’s Association
Joe Thompson, High School/Middle School Principal’s Association
Lea Skurpski (Associate), DSS, Director, Operations & Strategic Planning
Liz Payne (Associate), ISD, Coordinator, Health & Physical Education
Richard Michelback (Associate), DF&TS, Specialist, Office of Safety & Security
Jennifer Spears (Associate), DSS, Specialist, Intervention & Prevention Services
Morgan McGhee (Associate), DFS, Specialist, Food and Nutrition Services
Camille Bartus (Associate), Specialist, HR & Wellness

Associates are non-voting members.

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes

Archived Information