Outstanding Principal Finalists and School-level Recipients

The outstanding principals recognized at 2019 FCPS Honors

jesse kraft2019 Outstanding Principal Finalist

Jesse Kraft

Jesse works with a passion that inspires the great educators around him.  Thanks to his leadership, Coates has realized significant, measurable improvements in student performance across grade levels and subgroups while improving staff working conditions. Teachers feel that their instructional skills have improved and they’re committed to ongoing professional growth to realize the Coates mission for students. Jesse empowers staff and students and is a constant model, designing and leading trainings for teachers, creating the “Talk Like a Boss” workshop series for students, boosting learning opportunities for parents, revising PBIS practices, building a teacher leadership cohort, collaborating with parents to achieve a  PTA membership increase that garnered state recognition, and systematically working to nurture a school culture that cares and gets results.



maureen boland2019 Outstanding Principal Finalist

Maureen Boland

Maureen has literally spent a lifetime in Fairfax County Public Schools, having started as a student at Hunt Valley Elementary to now being principal at Rolling Valley. Her love for all things FCPS reflects in the care she gives students, teachers and parents at RVES. She exemplifies leadership; involving teachers, staff, parents, students, and the community in creating and fostering a shared vision for Rolling Valley.  She believes her staff should have every opportunity to continue learning about the field of education by providing professional development and mentorship. Most of all, she enjoys being the head “Rockin’ Robin” and her current PTA president describes her as a “cheerleader for the teachers and students.”  



shawn derose2019 Outstanding Principal Finalist

Shawn DeRose

From the moment he started at Glasgow Middle School, it was clear that Shawn was committed to making high-quality classroom instruction the core of his leadership. Each year, he focuses on providing high-quality Tier 1 instruction by emphasizing learning targets, high level academic tasks, scaffolds and evidence of student learning.  He also embodies Glasgow’s commitment to lifelong learning. He reflects on and models his own growth for his staff. As one community member shared, “he is an honest leader, sharing concerns as well as successes, with parents. He has the confidence to ask for the community’s feedback, and he appreciates receiving it, telling us it is the best way for the school and for him to continuously improve.”



jennifer heiges209 Outstanding Principal Finalist

Jennifer Heiges

Jen has been extremely fortunate to have spent 17 years as a member of the Marshall Road Community. Her background as a special educator has driven her to create an inclusive environment where all learners are celebrated. She has brought many encouraging programs to the school such as Responsive Classroom, The Positivity Project and Yoga4Classrooms. She models optimism by developing genuine relationships with all and by consistently having a smile on her face. Jen is a mentor to students, teachers and colleagues.  She believes that teaching the whole child is the key to success. Marshall Road embraces well-rounded students and very enthusiastic teachers thanks to Jen’s leadership for all these years.



jay nocco2019 Outstanding Principal Finalist

Jay Nocco

"Is it good for our students?" is the guiding question Jay asks when decisions are made at Lynbrook. He has led the school in raising the rigor of core instruction with a focus on enduring understandings.  Teachers now focus on how the learning today will help students in their future. Under his leadership, Lynbrook has piloted both a Trauma Informed Classroom course and a Schoolwide Literacy Lab site for the county. Jay hires reflective practitioners and provides them the support and resources to help all children succeed. He engages his staff by recognizing their strengths and inviting them to contribute in authentic ways. Jay is a coach, mentor, leader, cheerleader, supporter and friend who reminds his teachers that they work with him, not for him.      



2019 Outstanding Principal - School Recipients

  • Bull Run Elementary School
    • Jason Pensler
  • Burke School
    • Frank Tranfa
  • Coates Elementary School
    • Jesse Kraft
  • Cooper Middle School
    • Arlene Randall
  • Cub Run Elementary School
    • Jenni Coakley
  • Dogwood Elementary School
    • Mie Devers
  • Franklin Middle School
    • Sharon Eisenberg
  • Garfield Elementary School
    • Christine Slattery
  • Glasgow Middle School
    • Shawn DeRose
  • Greenbriar West Elementary School
    • Patty Granada
  • Groveton Elementary School
    • Jim Swoger
  • Herndon High School
    • Liz Noto
  • Hunt Valley Elementary School
    • Dave Fee
  • Kent Gardens Elementary School
    • Holly McGuigan
  • Lake Anne Elementary School
    • Jill Stewart
  • Lee High School
    • Deirdre Lavery
  • Louise Archer Elementary School
    • Michelle Makrigiorgos
  • Lynbrook Elementary School
    • Jay Nocco
  • Marshall High School
    • Jeff Litz
  • Marshall Road Elementary School
    • Jennifer Heiges
  • Oakton Elementary School
    • Chris Kelley
  • Rocky Run Middle School
    • Amy Goodloe
  • Rolling Valley Elementary School
    • Maureen Boland
  • Sangster Elementary School
    • Lisa Reddel
  • Saratoga Elementary School
    • Amy Miller
  • Springfield Estates Elementary School
    • Mary Randolph
  • Terraset Elementary School
    • Lindsay Trout
  • Union Mill Elementary School
    • Kathy Case

HR Connection

Question for Human Resources? Submit it through the HR Connection portal or call 571-423-3000 or 1-800-831-4331.