Printer friendly version of this document.
1. Proof of residency:
A deed, lease agreement, or resident manager’s letter is acceptable. Supporting documentation may be required. If the family is living in the residence of a friend or relative, the homeowner/leaseholder must provide a notarized affidavit accompanied by the lease or deed. An affidavit by the parent stating his/her residence and three official supporting documents to that effect are also required as evidence of non-temporary residence.
Parents must notify their child’s school when their home address changes and provide proof of their new residence. If families move out of Fairfax County, children are no longer eligible to attend Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) and will be withdrawn.
The student must be accompanied by the person with whom he/she lives, either a parent or a court-appointed guardian or legal custodian. The accompanying adult will be required to present photo identification.
Physical presence of the parent in the residence of the child is required for tuition-free enrollment in FCPS. A change in enrollment status may be necessary if a parent initially enrolls the student but leaves Fairfax County. Virginia law and FCPS School Board policies and regulations set criteria regarding the enrollment of children by nonparents. Having legal custody is only one of the requirements that must be met.
2. Proof of birth:
An original birth certificate is required for all students. If a birth certificate is not available, an affidavit with substantiating documentation is required.
The legal name of the student as shown on the original birth certificate will be entered in the student record. Changes to an original birth certificate must be supported by a court document.
3. Documentation of previous educational program:
School records and/or original transcripts are required of secondary students and recommended for elementary students. Recent periods of non-school attendance must be accounted for. If a translated document is submitted, the original document in the original language must also be supplied.
Schools will send all non-U.S. school transcripts to Student Registration for evaluation and translation when necessary.
4. Health Documentation: (See FCPS Regulation 2101):
A certificate (Commonwealth of Virginia School Entrance Health Form MCH-213) of physical examination (including required screenings) completed within the last 12 months prior to starting school by a U.S. licensed physician, licensed nurse practitioner, or licensed physician assistant acting under the supervision of a licensed physician is required for all students being admitted for the first time into kindergarten or elementary school. Transfer students entering elementary school must provide either a record of a physical examination completed prior to enrolling in the previous school or a record of a physical examination dated within the last 12 months.
Please refer to the Student Registration website for the most current immunization requirements as they are subject to change: http://www.fcps.edu/dss/osp/StudentRegistration/registration-requirements.shtml
TUBERCULOSIS SCREENING REQUIREMENTS:
Persons from countries with a high TB incidence (20/100,000) should be screened for TB and TB infection. Persons from countries not found on this list should only be tested if they are symptomatic or have an individual risk factor for TB infection or progression to TB disease. (Data obtained from WHO 2015 Global report)
For all students who have resided in a foreign country included on the High TB Burden Country List 2016 (see table above) during the last five (5) years for a consecutive period of five (5) or more months, one of the following is required:
Note: Students may be conditionally enrolled in FCPS if they present a temporary medical waiver of a TST.
< Back to General Registration Requirements
Documentary proof shall be provided of adequate age appropriate immunization with the prescribed number of doses of vaccine indicated below for attendance at a public or private elementary, middle or secondary school, child care center, nursery school, family day care home or developmental center. Vaccines must be administered in accordance with the harmonized schedule of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, American Academy of Pediatrics, and American Academy of Family Physicians and must be administered within spacing and age requirements (available at http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/Epidemiology/Immunization/acip.htm). Children vaccinated in accordance with either the current harmonized schedule or the harmonized catch-up schedules (including meeting all minimum age and interval requirements) are considered to be appropriately immunized for school attendance. (See “Supplemental Guidance for School-required Vaccines” for additional information.)
Diphtheria, Tetanus, & Pertussis (DTaP, DTP, or Tdap). A minimum of 4 doses. A child must have at least one dose of DTaP or DTP vaccine on or after the fourth birthday. DT (Diphtheria, Tetanus) vaccine is required for children who are medically exempt from the pertussis containing vaccine (DTaP or DTP). Adult Td is required for children 7 years of age and older who do not meet the minimum requirements for tetanus and diphtheria. Effective July 1, 2014, a booster dose of Tdap vaccine is required for all children entering the 6th grade.
Haemophilus Influenzae Type b (Hib) Vaccine. This vaccine is required ONLY for children up to 60 months of age. A primary series consists of either 2 or 3 doses (depending on the manufacturer). However, the child’s current age and not the number of prior doses received govern the number of doses required. Unvaccinated children between the ages of 15 and 60 months are only required to have one dose of vaccine.
Hepatitis B Vaccine. A complete series of 3 doses of hepatitis B vaccine is required for all children. However, the FDA has approved a 2-dose schedule ONLY for adolescents 11-15 years of age AND ONLY when the Merck Brand (RECOMBIVAX HB) Adult Formulation Hepatitis B Vaccine is used. If the 2-dose schedule is used for adolescents 11-15 years of age it must be clearly documented on the school form.
Human Papillomavirus Vaccine (HPV). Effective October 1, 2008, a complete series of 3 doses of HPV vaccine is required for females. The first dose shall be administered before the child enters the 6th grade. After reviewing educational materials approved by the Board of Health, the parent or guardian, at the parent’s or guardian’s sole discretion, may elect for the child not to receive the HPV vaccine.
Measles, Mumps, & Rubella (MMR) Vaccine. A minimum of 2 measles, 2 mumps, and 1 rubella. (Most children receive 2 doses of each because the vaccine usually administered is the combination vaccine MMR). First dose must be administered at age 12 months or older. Second dose of vaccine must be administered prior to entering kindergarten but can be administered at any time after the minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2.
Pneumococcal (PCV) Vaccine. This vaccine is required ONLY for children less than 60 months of age. One to four doses, dependent on age at first dose, of pneumococcal conjugate vaccine are required.
Polio Vaccine. A minimum of 4 doses of polio vaccine. One dose must be administered on or after the fourth birthday. See supplemental guidance document for additional information.
Varicella (Chickenpox) Vaccine. All children born on and after January 1, 1997, shall be required to have one dose of chickenpox vaccine administered at age 12 months or older. Effective March 3, 2010, a second dose must be administered prior to entering kindergarten but can be administered at any time after the minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2.
For further information, please call the Division of Immunization at 1-800-568-1929 (in state only) or 804-864-8055.
David Anderson, Coordinator
July 5, 2016